Sunday, January 29, 2012

Super Bowl 46 Giants vs. Patriots Part Deaux


I NEED NEW SHORTS

Well, isn't this refreshing. The New York Football Giants will face the New England Patriots for the right to be Super Bowl XLVI Champions. Revenge Game, Armageddon blah blah blah. The way I see it, this game is a testament of will and desire. There are way to many story lines to cover but there are only a few that really matter.

 Revenge Game: Maybe for the insufferable Patriots fan it is...but something tells me that Tom Brady and Bill Belicheck will not be focusing on retribution for February 3, 2008 as I believe that they aren't naive enough to think that dwelling on that loss will ultimately help them prepare for this game. However, the New York Giants can use that game as motivation to know that ANYTHING can happen. Play your game the best that you can play, and the rest will take care of itself.

Eli-te? Whether you believe that or not, which most of you dont, Eli is a top tier QB. It is really funny that the best that Patriots fans can come up with as an insult is that he is ugly. Hello 3rd grade. Again, say what you will but the facts do not lie.. Eli Manning is a PROVEN playoff quarterback.  Just look at the stat line from this post season. You cant deny that Eli Manning is capable of playing the position at the HIGHEST level. 

TB12: As a fair and balanced (fuck you fox news) fan of sport, I would be remissed if I did not give credit where credit is due. Tom Brady scares me. Guy is one of the best Quarterbacks to play the game. We all know this.  He is the unquestioned leader of that team. But I will say this, this game revolves around the play of Tom Brady. 

Key Match ups

 

1. Of course, the Giants Prolific defensive line versus the Patriots Offensive line. This has been proven in the past. Get pressure on Tom, Tom is not as effective. Quick passes are going to help the Patriots out immensely versus the pass rush. If the Giants Linebacking core and secondary can stay with these receivers the Giants will have some success on the defensive side of the ball. 

2. Eli Manning vs. The Patriots defense (especially on 3rd down). Eli is dynamite on third down this postseason just straight pulling plays out of his ass. It is no secret that the Patriots struggled in that category against Joe Flacco. If the Patriots can get off the field against the best offense they have seen since week 9 (also the Giants) they will have a great advantage with Tom waiting on the sideline. The Giants, however, were down two key offensive starters in their week 9 win in Hakeem Nicks and Ahmad Bradshaw.

In Closing....

Ulitimately, I dont know what to think. The NFL playoffs are so unpredictable that making predictions is for the Birds. But I will say one thing....The Giants have played VASTLY superior opponents all season long, struggled as they did, they are playing their best football when it counts. The Patriots, however, played cream puff after cream puff but executed their game and have won all those games. Take it for what its worth, may not be worth anything to you, but I think there is something to be said for being battle tested all the way through the season. 

GO BIG BLUE


Monday, January 16, 2012

The Boston Bruins Were Not On My Radar Today


I wonder if they will keep playing this commercial?

Sunday Funday for Todd? Bet your bottom dollar it was. After spending my saturday night in Joey's Mothers van in the Gillette Stadium parking lot (worth the c-note), I enjoyed Divisional Sunday Football and got to play RMC puck. The Life? Maybe...Awesome? Definately.

The New York Football Giants.

Fuck everyone. Fuck the haters (who just welcomed Roger Goodell and Bill Levy after todays game) who say the Giants needed to prove something. Cough, Cough, Sawyer. The people who said Eli was not Eli-te. FUCK EVERYONE. Minus Cooney because if Tom Coughlin was at The Loft on Saturday he would have been on his knees faster than you could say February, 3rd 2008. But anyways..thank you Green Bay for underestimating Big Blue and getting your ass picked apart by Eli. The vaunted, prolific Packers offense was stopped all night minus the two biggest BONEHEAD calls in the history of the NFL. Great Game G-Men.

Seriously though, Eli Manning is an elite quarterback. I do not give a fuck what you say. Eli Manning performs at an Elite level on the road in the playoffs (tied for most road playoff wins in NFL history) which, by the way, he leads Drew Brees 4-0 in road playoff wins. He owns the most 4th quarter touchdowns in a single season. Super Bowl MVP. Did you see him on third down tonight? DID YOU SEE HIM? Case closed.

Great NFC Championship matchup next sunday. Sorry RMC, I might not make next weeks game. Speaking of RMC, lost a heartbreaker tonight. 3-2 in overtime. But none of that should matter. Playing inspired hockey after Big Blue's impressive victory, Todd scored his first, and probably last, goal of the season. Paying Customers got their moneys worth with that tally alone. For some odd reason Todd decided to crash to the net and he got rewarded. Also he had some flashy plays at the blueline to keep the puck in the zone. Shame that we lost but my head is held high.

Thursday, January 5, 2012

The Flames Are A Bunch Of Burnouts


Bruins Devastate Flames 9-0


9 is a crooked number if I have ever seen one. Is this a dream? Think back to May of 2010, what were your feelings towards the Bruins? The Biggest Love/Hate relationship of your life. Fact. Almost every player lacked the testicular fortitude needed to win when it counted. But they won the Stanley Cup and have actually improved their overall team game this year. Now I'm not going to get into some sob story about how we love the Bruins (although that is possible upon request) so these ABSURD stats will have to hold you over.


The Boston Bruins as a unit are +69 in goal differential. What? To put that in perspective, the Bruins were +51 (best in the east) in 2010/2011. Gnarly dude.

The Boston Bruins have 9 different players with 20 or more points....more shocking however, they lead the league in offense without a top-30 scorer. My head hurts.

Both goaltenders have sub-2.00 GAA and are 1-2 in the league with astronomical save percentages (.949 TR .940 TT). Gimme a break.

Since their dreadful 3-7 start, the B's have ammassed a 23-3-1 record. Highest win percentage in the league while holding mass quantities of games in hand on most teams.

The Seguin Bergeron Marchand line has an even 100 points through 37 games. Top 3 line in the entire NHL. good two way center with solid, talented young guys at wing. Cant ask for a better combo. 

Good. Great. Grand. Awesome. Peachy-keane. Hunky-Dorey. Unfortunately for The Bruins, they have set the Bar really, really high for themselves..basically they need to win the Cup for this season not to be deamed a failure. While the gaudy regular season numbers as special and we are all enjoying it, we still need to play well in May and June. Heres to continued success and good health.

P.S. Vancouver is in town on Saturday. It's go time.