Tuesday, October 9, 2012

NHL TURNING POINT: We're A Bunch of Ass Holes



Tuesday, October 9th 2012. The day finally came. The day where Todd finally got pushed over his Lockout edge. Even though the first 2 weeks of the Regular Season has been cancelled, the ex-starting date of said regular season has not come and gone yet. Todd personally thought he would have lasted longer before he would write this blog, but a certain event occurred today that left Todd's patience exhausted. A multitude of factors causing disarray.. So, even though Todd is returning to the dark place, he must get a few things off his chest.

NHL Superstars Zdeno Chara and Alexander Ovechkin were televised on ESPN2 today. There are several things that stuck out to Todd within the first 45 seconds of the telecast that ultimately made him turn it off before doing something he would possibly regret. In no particular order, here they are.

First things first. Fuck ESPN. Seriously, FUCK ESPN. I love Steve Levy and Barry Melrose just as much as the next guy, but they made an absolute mockery of the fact that ESPN is flipping a giant bird to the NHL. A sporting network that is flaunting that the NHL is having a lockout by virtue of broadcasting games in a rival league. This was a giant dick punch. Just in the right spot where it made Todd feel like puking. While the uninformed may not have understood the rhetoric being spewed by Levy and Melrose (Credit Barry for saying it is immoral for union members to play in the KHL, SEL etc while their brethren are home paying for ice time), Todd heard their audio porn clear as day. They would not stop talking about the negative effects of the league having a lockout while incessantly pointing out how great it is that hockey is being played on ESPN. Their broadcast was complete garbage, it consisted of terrible play calling coupled with awful lockout rhetoric. Puke City, Bitch.

Shame on the NHL for allowing this. How can a league allow a network who denounces them (although they don't actually say it, actions speak louder than words) broadcast games from a rival league on their home turf with players who are under contract in their league? By not having a Fucking Lockout. Not a good look owners, not a good look at all. Money aint that tight to allow this crap. The only saving grace was that the quality of the KHL is 1/3 of what the NHL is. That much was apparent.

Todds Penis was softer than pudding when he saw Zdeno Chara in a Prague uniform. If Z is not donning any Uni other than the Black and Gold, we know there is a problem. Not to mention that these guys run the risk of getting hurt thus prohibiting them from playing in the NHL when the lockout is lifted. Thank god the ice is bigger or else Todd would be very, very worried. Half of our franchise players are risking their health in subpar leagues overseas. FUCK THAT.

Am I stupid (don't answer that) or is collectively bargaining about anything other than core economic issues a GIGANTIC waste of time? Instead, the douche bag brigade decides to split hairs over the definition of HRR, before they decide on how to split it. Last week I read somewhere that the two sides were going to have a meeting about when their next collective bargaining meeting would take place. Meetings about Meetings. Now we are just regressing.

....

They can win me back, however. But time is precious. This is my offer Commissioner Gary Bettman (representative of the owners, who run the show). If you don't accept this proposal by Thanksgiving I'm resolved to withdraw it and some of the concessions I am making will be off the table for good. Here are the terms. I have the capacity to forgive you. Completely. I'm not mad at you, I'm disappointed. I am disappointed that your plans for the success of the league don't involve working in good faith with, lest you forget, your Business Partners. Yes, PARTNERS. If you put your nearsighted greed behind you, and see for the actual long term, you will see that a trustworthy, co-dependent partnership that is based on integrity, will be a more lucrative option. Neither side can be completely satisfied, thus concessions are to be made, by both parties. Just return to Normal Business Operation by Thanksgiving, I will be at your door, pockets flush, holding several Andrew Jacksons with your name on them, without hesitation. As long as I am able to watch HBO 24/7 Leafs-Redwings in its entirety leading up to the Winter Classic, I'm all yours. Just fucking get it DONE.


P.S. The NBA still sucks.