Tough loss.
When you witness a Game Seven collapse in the Stanley Cup Finals, all other losses just don't hit as hard. At the very least, this sentiment is my coping mechanism for the second "gentlemen's sweep" the Boston Bruins have been dealt by the Tampa Bay Lightning in three seasons. Not a great way to go out.
If anything, this series loss to the Lightning underscores how important securing that Game Seven win versus the Blues was to this franchise, this core group and the fans. Tampa Bay was/is currently the only roadblock to getting back to the SCF for the Bruins. Just a massive blunder to end 2019.
Bunch of shit to get to.... in no particular order.
1. The NHL's five month Corona Virus shut down was a killer for this team. Momentum was on the Bruins side and without question, the Bruins would have fared better versus Tampa. Would they have won the series? Maybe, maybe not. But their performance would have been much, much improved.
2. Tuukka Rask. Left the bubble to be with his family. Full Stop. No further details needed. If you try to say he "quit" on his team, you are a clown and I don't have time for you.
Guy is an elite goaltender. We can debate, all day long if you would like, his merits in clutch situations. You would bring up valid points. I would bring up valid points. The discourse would continue for eternity. Jaroslav Halak is not a sustainable alternative, even though he had some flashes of true #1 goal tending. Need Tuukka back, if he is willing.
3. Off season UFA and RFA deals loom large. Also in no particular order....
A. Torey Krug: My heart wants him back. Key PP cog for a team that was reliant on the PP to kind of cover for 5v5 depth scoring issues. Six weeks ago I was adamant that the team re sign 47. Six weeks later I have talked myself into the exciting options the Bruins would have if 47 were not to return. Beefing up their secondary scoring behind 88-37-63 is a top priority. A long term deal with the money Krug will be looking for could become an albatross on the back end. That would be the potential long term repercussion, a short term repercussion would be the potential expansion draft loss of.....
B.... Matt Grzelcyk. Young man is a smooth skater and is an asset to the D corps. RFA, hopefully will sign a few million AAV for a couple years. Want to hold on to him and have him develop into a solid second pair/PP Dman.
C. Jake Debrusk. Read a bunch how he may command five or six million AAV on his second deal. I just dont see it. Too streaky and really hurt his bargaining power during this restart. I want him back. Solid player with speed. Would like him to finish more but I dont want him getting more than four million p/y from the Bruins.
D. Karson Kuhlman... If you watched last nights game, you want him back. Speed is clear. Opens up options for the team especially since he can be plugged with 37-63 for a different look.
E. Joakim Nordstrom. Played solid at times this post season. Shot blocking especially solid however Dzone coverage lacked in some key spots. Will likely get more than the Bruins are willing to give in UFA.
Quick honorable mention... Kevan Miller. Sorry your knee sabotaged your Bruins career. Good luck in the future.
This brings us to Zdeno Chara, the Captain. The reason I wore #33 for The Tents. The man is a sure fire HOF and #33 will be hanging in the rafters asap. If Big Z wants to return, big IF, he is deserving of a contract. His presence in the room is invaluable. Having him as a part of next seasons Bruins team helps the young guys for one more year. No matter how much he may have struggled in the postseason, and at times it was glaring (foot speed, clearing attempts), he needs to be a part of the room for one more season. If he chooses to retire, first off I will cry. Secondly, the Bruins should offer him a position in the front office. Zdeno Chara is the personification of the Boston Bruins.
To wrap this up, I would like to see more of Zach Senyshyn and Jakub Zboril. The infamous trio of first rounders has only produced Debrusk so far. But these two show a bit of promise. Issue is they will require waivers to be demoted to Providence. So the next chance for both of them is probably their last with the Bruins.
4. The Bruins 2011 core probably has one last stand next season. Krejci is in the final year of his contract. Patrice and Brad another year older. Tuukka is a wild card. Big Z may not be back. But I am all in for one last stand.
5. Expect even more from David Pastrnak next season (who looked slow/disinterested at times during the restart). He is too skilled to not dominate. When 88 is on fire, life just hits a bit better.
6. Charlie McAvoy is your Number one stud on defense. He is a monster in all situations. Pay him when the time comes.
7. Get ready for Jack Studnicka... that speed, some meat on the bone and his penchant to let it rip have this man standing at attention.
8. With the pandemic fucking everything up. The best case scenario would be a December start to next season. Will it happen? I have my doubts. Fans in the stands? Serious doubts. I think we can all agree, this month of Boston Bruins Hockey in August was a treat and it is always nice to have the Bruins playing hockey. Fingers crossed we get to see the boys playing before Christmas. We are getting into prime "Owen's first game" territory. Would really like to be able to have that experience.
Shout out to the Blunt Brothers. Many opinions here are direct result of extensive conversations with Andrew and Eric.
Even in defeat. Boston Bruins Puck.... Number One in the Hood G.

