Tuesday, April 26, 2011

The "Todd got really lazy" Boston Sports Update.


Boston wins 8 of 9
Red Sox 10-11.....Third in AL East

Holy Gazongas! After their dreadful 2-10 start, the Red Sox have turned their early season woes around and are one of the hottest teams in the MLB. After taking 3 of 4 from Toronto, splitting with Oakland, and Sweeping a 4 game set in Anaheim, it seems the Sox are set for their long arduous season ahead. Just think of it as an extended spring training. The Starting Rotation needed a few extra starts to get going and now own a sub-1.00 ERA in their past eight outings. Carl Crawford is no longer wetting the bed, Jed Lowrie is batting .431 as expected, Adrian Gonzalez is our best hitter (the one HR kinda sucks) coming up with clutch AB after clutch AB, and there is an all around good feeling about this team heading into Baltimore tonight.

Celtics Sweep Knicks
All Signs Point to South Beach

After a couple eyebrow raising wins at home, the Celtics trotted into the "Real Garden" and ripped out the heart and soul of the Knicks. Paul was Paul. Ray was Ray. KG was KG, and Rondo was Rondo (in games 3 and 4). It would seem that the Celtics are ready for another deep run. Not so fast. In all fairness, the Knicks are terrible. Shoulda been blown out each and every game. But when the Big 4 was not on the court, it seemed any lead that the Celtics had was in jeopardy. Jeff, Nenad, Delonte, and Baby need to step it up big time if there is any hope of getting out of the Eastern Conference. Jermaine O'Neal was dece and the other O'Neal should hang 'em up because the Shaq soap opera is getting old.


Horton Hears a WOO!
Bruins Lead Series 3-2

Now this, folks, is what I'm talking about. The Boston Bruins, who played like dog shit the first two games of this series, showed that they indeed have balls, and that they can actually win games in Montreal (prior to game three it was like a year without a W at Centre Bell). Snip Ryder was, well, the Snip that we all know and love after he won game 4 in OT. Todd and Snip have 1 thing in common, besides the fact that we both snipe, we are a tad lazy when we don't need our A game.  Then Snip saved the day, literally, in game 5. Bailing out TIMMY in the first period with a glove save infront of an empty net. Todd and Garg had a beautiful yet nerve-racking view of the Garden ice from Section 311 (I love you Norm) during the first 89 minutes of play. Until, Nathan Horton BURIED home the Double-OT GWG right in front of the Montreal Netminder. Best Hockey game that I have ever attended and I have witnessed a few gems in my day. That thrilling victory at the Fleet sets up a HUGE game 6 back up in MTL. It would be nice not to have to have a game 7. And Just for the record, Andrew Ference is, and forever will be, and OG of Boston Bruins Hockey.

                     

Thats Right Montreal, FUCK YOU and your Car Flag having, 911 calling, 11 year old pouting fanbase of yours. GO BRUINS!

Tuesday, April 12, 2011

NHL Eastern Conference Quarterfinals....Bruins vs. Habs


Well, Well, Well. After 6 games of serious contempt, police investigations, goalie fights, a 3-5 shorthanded goal, and Montreal fans calling 911, The Boston Bruins and The Montreal Canadiens decided they wanted to play between 4 and 7 more games in the first round of the Stanley Cup Playoffs. Here is how it all breaks down....


Offense: The Bruins were 5th in the NHL in goals per with 2.98. However, the Bruins did not have one player with 70 or more points. In fact, the B's had 10 players with 40 or more points. A balanced scoring attack at the very least. The Canadiens were 21st in the league with 2.60 goals per. Not only did they not have a 60 point player, they only had 5 players with 40+.  Advantage: Bruins

Defense: The Bruins were second in the League in goals against with 2.30. Big tough boys man this blue line. Chara and McQuaid had +30 or better ratings. The Bruins will be able the bang the Canadiens down low in the defensive zone making for a long series for the Habs forwards. The Canadiens were 8th in league with 2.51 goals against per. A lot of injuries, and that bitch PK Subban taking dives and just being a bitch (he's good offensively, though). They can definitely be outworked by our forwards but we need to put the effort in. Advantage: Bruins

Goaltending: So basically, the Boston Bruins have had the best goal tending in the league the past three years and have not made it past the second round. So goal tending is not everything. Tim Thomas is nasty, no question. Vezina favorite. Carey Price is either really really good, or really really bad. Advantage: Wash

Special Teams: The Bruins are a second tier special teams squad. 20th ranked PP and a 16 ranked PK. While Montreal has a top ranked PP and a decent PK. The Bruins better be careful and stay out of the box against these flopping fairies or we could be in for a long series. Advantage: Habs

Prediction: Bruins have the home ice advantage. They are TOO good to be knocked out in the first round. Bruins in 7.

Monday, April 11, 2011

The Best 2-7 Team Ever?

"Coach Said the play was so neat-o, He gave me a candy bah!"

Red Sox Win Series 2-1
Boston 2-7....4th Place AL East
The Red Sox won their first series of the season. Score. It wasn't always pretty. You didn't think they were actually going to do it. But they did. And thank god for that. 2-7 sounds way better than 1-8 (or an unthinkable 0-9). Yes 3-6 would have been orgasmic but hey, that was unrealistic. As bad as their record is, the Red Sox have 153 games to make up 4 games in the division. So 2-7 really isn't that bad...especially if it was the wake up call we all needed. 

There were some serious positives to take out of this series. First of which, they actually won a game. They got the monkey off their back and can focus on the rest of the season. Second, LASER SHOW, RELAX. Dustin Pedroia is a true leader. Little Dusty had 9 hits and 5 RBI's and patrolled 2nd base like it was his own front yard. Third, Big Bad Joshua returned for an 8 inning GEM limiting the Yanks to 2 hits and 0 runs. If this is the Joshua that we can expect to see, consider me excited. Finally, the three closers looked phenomenal on Friday and Papelbon has mowed down every batter he has faced.

Amidst all the positives of winning a series vs. New York. The Sox left a small village on base throughout the series. Lackey Blows. Clay needs to start earning his fancy new deal while Carl Crawford and Jacoby Ellsbury couldn't get on base in a T-ball game. Still far from acceptable as The Rays come to town minus one "Idiot" as Manny Ramirez decided to retire because he failed drug school. The Rays are awful right now. Sub .200 team average. The road back to a .500 average begins now.

Thursday, April 7, 2011

No One Can Stop Us Now!


Cleveland Sweeps Series 3-0
Red Sox 0-6..... Dead Last in the League

Good, Great, Grand, Awesome, Amazing, Hunky Dorey, Peachy-Keane, Outstanding! Not one of those words have been used to describe the performance of the 0-6 Boston Red Sox. Getting Swept by the 2010 AL Champion Texas Rangers is one thing. But getting swept by, potentially, the worst team in the league in the Cleveland Indians leaves me scratching my Size-8 domepiece.

There is nothing to say really. The offense was NO WHERE TO BE FOUND. No clutch hitting, barely a dozen hits in the series. They made Fausto Carmona look like a god. Beckett - FAIL. Diasuke - FAIL. The only bright spots of the entire series were the ACE performance of John Lester and Adrian Gonzales' home run. Other than that, turrible performance.

Next up on the docket, the home opening series against the "Underdog" New York Yankees. Dont look now but if the Sox don't get it together, they could be looking at a potential 0-9 start (optimists think 1-9). Lackey, Clay, and Beckett to start and try to avoid a serious nightmare.

Monday, April 4, 2011

Off and Running......


Texas wins series 3-0
Red Sox 0-3...5th Place in east

Holy Gazongas! Terrible way to start the season, boys. The Boston Red Sox fell flat on their collective face this weekend. As all the hoopla concerning the "2011 World Series Champion" Boston Red Sox's powerful roster, Almost everyone wrote off the pre-season struggles because no one believes that Spring Training games have any meaning. Well, the Red Sox starting rotation looked just as bad this weekend as they did in spring training. Meatballs. The Rangers hit 11, yes, 11 home runs. Straight drubbing. Lester, Lackey and Clay (Clay not as much) looked like they needed a few more starts to get where they need to be. Cant be having breaking balls hang in the sweet spot going a modest 79 mph. The Offense, was decent. Crawford and Salty need to settle down at the plate. Adrian Gonzalez and Big Papi look primed for solid seasons. Over all the pitching got the award for blowing the opening series.

Up next the Sox head to Cleveland to try and right the ship. Cleveland is set for a sub .500 season. Yes, its April, but we still do need to be winning games. This is a good opportunity to get back to the basics.