"Coach Said the play was so neat-o, He gave me a candy bah!"
Red Sox Win Series 2-1
Boston 2-7....4th Place AL East
The Red Sox won their first series of the season. Score. It wasn't always pretty. You didn't think they were actually going to do it. But they did. And thank god for that. 2-7 sounds way better than 1-8 (or an unthinkable 0-9). Yes 3-6 would have been orgasmic but hey, that was unrealistic. As bad as their record is, the Red Sox have 153 games to make up 4 games in the division. So 2-7 really isn't that bad...especially if it was the wake up call we all needed.
There were some serious positives to take out of this series. First of which, they actually won a game. They got the monkey off their back and can focus on the rest of the season. Second, LASER SHOW, RELAX. Dustin Pedroia is a true leader. Little Dusty had 9 hits and 5 RBI's and patrolled 2nd base like it was his own front yard. Third, Big Bad Joshua returned for an 8 inning GEM limiting the Yanks to 2 hits and 0 runs. If this is the Joshua that we can expect to see, consider me excited. Finally, the three closers looked phenomenal on Friday and Papelbon has mowed down every batter he has faced.
Amidst all the positives of winning a series vs. New York. The Sox left a small village on base throughout the series. Lackey Blows. Clay needs to start earning his fancy new deal while Carl Crawford and Jacoby Ellsbury couldn't get on base in a T-ball game. Still far from acceptable as The Rays come to town minus one "Idiot" as Manny Ramirez decided to retire because he failed drug school. The Rays are awful right now. Sub .200 team average. The road back to a .500 average begins now.

No comments:
Post a Comment