Monday, October 24, 2011
I Almost Lost My Pearly Whites
My ugly mug almost got alot uglier last night as RMC made its season debut. Me being such a badass, I have foregone proper safety measures to protect my face by removing the cage on my helmet. I figure that if I am playing at such a high level of hockey, the fans deserve to see my face. But my season debut almost went sour.
There I was, being a warrior in front of my own net, just clearing out any opposing players with my strength and determination. The puck found its way out to the point where an opposing player was gearing up for a slap shot just as I was turning towards. Time seemed to slow down as the shot was made and the rock hard disc of vulcanized rubber had me dead to rights. If it was not for my quick reflexes I would have been down for the count. I raised my glove towards my face and, luckily for my team, I was able to stop the puck from breaking my face. Because of my skill, I was able to stay in the game and help my team to its 4th win in franchise history.
Now there is a serious debate brewing in my mind. Cage? Or no cage? Now I don't want to have a puck rearrange my distinguishing facial features, but I don't want to disappoint the fans or show any weakness either. As RMC's fearless leader, we would be worse off than we already are.
Monday, October 10, 2011
Bury the Fucking Buscuit
Avalanche 1 - Bruins 0
Same old shit from the Bruins, just a new season. They play with A LOT more intensity when Timmy is net....for what reason I don't know. Tuukka is just as solid a goaltender but his teammates just cannot connect when he is between the pipes. The Bruins got shut out today. Yeah, Varlamov was pretty decent in net but this was 2 points that the Bruins need to pick up (yeah its about the points again). Bad bounces, bad passes, lackluster effort, matinee game....all strong arguments for why the Bruins lost today's game. Excuses aside, this is the type of game the Bruins NEED to win all year long if they want a decent shot at getting a good seed in the playoffs.
Couple thoughts from this painful matinee affair.....
I like Tuukka. He's a real solid goaltender. He does not deserve to lose to Colorado when he only gives up 1 goal. I personally think his stay at home style kept this game close. After losing his starting job to Tim Thomas at the outset of last season, having a losing record while posting solid numbers, and picking splinters out of his ass for 25 playoff games, I think the kid has had a pretty positive attitude (yeah the $28,000 ring helps a bit). But Tuukka is not deserving of getting held out to dry and this is no way to have to start a season. Two U's, Two K's, No Points. What a shame.
Was it just me or did every pass that the Bruins attempt get checked by a Colorado stick? They were clogging passing lanes like...well...pro's. Pure Aggravation.
Now I don't want to kill the Bruins too bad for this loss because it wasn't for a lack of chances. The Bruins had several REAL scoring opportunities but the ice was soft and the puck was bouncy on this 80 degree October day. Still, the B's need to bury their chances.
Matinee games sure aren't too fond of the Bruins. I could probably count on 2 hands (using my somewhat foggy memory) the amount of matinee games that the Bruins have won over the past 5 years. For some reason or another they do not like waking up early and playing in the afternoon.
NESN play by play man Jack Edwards has to clean it up. The guy is a goober, plain and simple. Although he has good intentions, using "Tim Thomas-esque" to describe a third period highway robbery staged by Semyon Varlamov is ENTIRELY premature. I mean yeah, the guy had the greatest single season in NHL history for a goaltender, but I for one believe that you need to put a string of good seasons together to have your name be followed by "esque" (Think Roy, Hasek, Broudeur).
Maybe I did not get the memo, but when a team is down a goal in the waning minutes of the third period why should the 4th line, woops "energy line" be out on the ice trying to tie the game. Yeah yeah yeah Soupy and Co. played great last year and deserve a regular shift, but I really want to see the puck on Krejci's stick or Bergy's stick when it comes down to the wire. The 4th line gets paid to give the the other lines rest and score the occasional goal, just not when the team needs its real scorers on the ice.
Nathan Horton seems timid. Rightly so. In watching him battle for the puck he just isn't getting dirty enough. In Saturdays game with Tampa (solid w for sure, was just too hungover to write up my reaction) Horty was seen crossing the blue line in the exact same spot as the "incident" that occurred last season in Game 3 of the Finals, and boy did he know it, he pulled up short after hearing imaginary footsteps. I'll give him a pass for now, but we need production out of this boy and we needed it today for sure.
Next up is the Carolina Hurricanes on Wednesday at RBC Center. The Bruins cant afford to spot Division Favorite Buffalo an early season cushion when we have not played a divisional game yet. I would rather not have to listen to "The Hangover" talk in the early stages of the '11-'12 campaign.
AND...... Finding two day old dip spit in a beer bottle while cleaning up the house is fucking disgusting, no matter who's mouth it came out of.
Be Excellent to Each other and Go Bruins!
Thursday, October 6, 2011
Bruins Falter on Banner Night
Flyers 2 - Bruins 1
The much anticipated raising of the banner, awesome as it was, would have been sweeter if the Bruins were able to Pull out a victory. The Flyers erased an early 1-0 deficit with two quick goals in the final minute of the first period and were able to hang on to win the first game of the season. Brad Marchand scored the lone goal for the Bruins on the first power play of the season. The Bruins had abundant chances but were not able to capitalize as the new Flyers goaltender Ilya Bryzgalov turned 22 of 23 shots aside. Tim Thomas looked no worse for ware playing his aggressive style and turning away 27 of 29.
Couple thoughts on Opening Night in the Bean....
You can give me all the cliche's you want. Its a marathon, not a sprint...Its the first game of many...you dont win the cup in October...blah blah blah. Shut Up Please. The Bruins lost tonight. Minus the first ten minutes, They were not the better team. Philly brought the play to the the Bruins while limiting their opportunities.
While I would not put this loss in the "Stanley Cup Hangover" category, the Bruins definitely made some mental mistakes and could not get out of their own way at times. I guess watching them ball out in the Playoffs all the way to the Cup will raise the expectations on this season a little.
I will go out on a limb and say that Philadelphia does not miss Brian Boucher.
Brad Marchand was the best Bruin on the ice tonight. Marshmont is out to prove that there is no such thing as a sophomore slump. Scoring a goal, having numerous chances throughout the game is a good start to the season for the pesky forward.
Tyler Seguin looked good. Sweet cross ice pass to Marchand for the only goal of the game. Big minutes and Big production for the kid this year.
AND... I'm not too sure my professor was excited to see me walk out in the middle of class after I finished my presentation. SAHHHHRY North Shore.
Christmas Comes Early - Flyers vs. Bruins, 7pm @ TD Garden
There are 3 Big, Important days in my life. Birthday, Christmas, and Opening Day. This is it. Game One of the Title defense. What better and opponent (maybe besides Montreal or Vancouver) to start the season against than the Philadelphia Flyers. The Bruins better be ready. I have a feeling the Flyers are looking for retribution for an embarressing performance vs. an Easter Conference Adversary in the Semi's. We better not get caught up in Lala Land when that banner will be raised for all eternity or we will be in for it.
P.S. I still don't get to watch this game live. Night Class - 1 Todd - 0.
Prediction: This is going to be a dog fight. Each team will earn a point tonight with the Bruins winning Overtime. Bruins 3 - Flyers 2 O/T.
Tuesday, October 4, 2011
ESPN's Power Rankings Reaction
Every Monday and Tuesday, ESPN releases their NHL and NFL Power Rankings, respectively. Todd may agree or Todd may disagree with the pundits on their decisions (Yes I will even Discuss the Patsies)
NHL Preseason Power Rankings
There was a definite slight to the Bruins in this weeks edition, even though they were given this weeks Number 1 slot, in hinting that they are not worthy of the distinction. The Defending Stanley Cup Champions should be given the benefit of the doubt until proved otherwise. With their first two games against Philly and Tampa looking for retribution, bet the house that they will fall a few spots by Week 2.
NFL Power Rankings Week 5
The New York Football Giants have consistently made a push up the rankings with three straight victories (while only playing good football half of the time) Eli Manning is (for now at least) pacing this Giants offense while the running game is, to be fair, dormant. A brilliant victory vs. Philly and a frantic comeback vs. a very beatable Arizona team has looked good on this team in the early going. Look for Big Blue to jump up 1 spot with a convincing victory over Seattle. It should be mentioned that the G-Men will be running the gauntlet in the second half of the season having to play most of their schedule vs. the AFC and NFC East.
The New England Patriots command so much respect that they do not get dropped even after a dreadful loss to Buffalo. Even though an argument can be made that they should hold the number 2 slot, I agree with ESPN in airing on the side of caution with the number 3 spot. They have played 1 playoff caliber team so far (Buffalo will cool off and Oakland needs another year). If the Patriots can handle the Jets and put the questions aside about their "Bend often and sometimes break" defense they will be given the number 2 spot as Green Bay is untouchable.
Monday, October 3, 2011
Defending Lord Stanley's Cup Bruins Season Preview
Ah, here we are, the beginning of the 2011-2012 NHL season is upon us. And for the first time in 39 years, your Boston Bruins are the Defending Stanley Cup Champions (keep pinching me). As you all know, I am a little over zealous when it comes to the Black and Gold (i.e. the unattractive mountain man beard) but that is just the way I like it. I watched the Bruins Championship DVD more times than Cooney asked to cut in on a Cigarette. But all that aside, we have a Championship title to defend. So without further ado, here is how the 2011-2012 Bruins shape up.
The Bruins are returning 17 members of the Cup winning squad (miraculous job by GM Peter Chiarelli) after losing only 2 key Contributors in Michael "Snip" Ryder and the ageless wonder Mark Recchi. Losing leadership in Rex will hurt this squad but we do have 17 Stanley Cup Champs on this roster so I'm not sweating any more than I already do. Snip is a dog during the regular season but when he has something to play for he is real nice. Kaberle, you sucked royally and we will not miss you.
Filling in for Rex will be youngblood Tyler Seguin, who missed time last year because of a lack of experience. He had flashes of brilliance followed by extended slumps. Having a full time roll will help him in his progression and the Stanley Cup Championship will help his mental game as well. Newcomer Benoit Puliot just needs to give us Snips regular season numbers to not be a bust and Defensmen Joe Corvo just needs to show up to the rink to be an upgrade over Kaberle.
Goaltender Tim Thomas came off the most historic year for any 'tender in NHL history by virtue of his Trophy Trifecta (Vezina, Conn Smythe, and Stanley). But can we expect him to continue his lights out performances into this season? Don't bet on it. Timmy is getting old and well qualified back up Tuukka Rask will bring back the slogan "Two U's, Two K's, Two Points" as he will be called upon to lighten Timmy's load throughout the regular season if there is any chance for Tim to have a solid playoff run. Long story short, we don't have any problems in the crease.
Coupled with strong goaltending, The blue liners for this squad will make the Bruins GAA stay in the top 5 this season. Zdeno Chara, Andrew Ference, Joe Corvo, and the German Missile will pace the D-men on this team with Quaider and Johnny Boychuck needing to step up and play solid defense all season. Again, barring injury, the Bruins defensive zone play will be solid this season.
Offensively, the Bruins need to worry about consistent production. After a season with only 2 60 point players (Krejci and Lucic) there is still room for improvement. The Power Play needs to have markedly increased production, Marchand needs to avoid the sophomore slump, the 4th line needs to continue their solid, tone setting play all season, and consistent play making from the top 2 lines on this team should set the Bruins comfortably atop the standings in the Northeast Divison.
All in all, on paper, this Bruins team should be up there in the discussion for Title Contenders. They will need to avoid the Stanley Cup Champion hangover as it is gonna take some serious effort night in and night out as everyone will want to best the defending champs. Todd, per usual, will be emptying his wallet for this team as he expects to attend 5-10 games this season (RESERVE YOUR SPOT NOW!).
THE "WAY TOO EARLY TO BE MAKING A PREDICTION" PREDICTION
With a 108 point regular season, the Champs are a shoe-in for the playoffs. The Northeast Division Champs, after knocking out 3 worthy opponents, will find themselves back in the finals. Thats as far as the crystal ball goes boys and girls.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)



