Avalanche 1 - Bruins 0
Same old shit from the Bruins, just a new season. They play with A LOT more intensity when Timmy is net....for what reason I don't know. Tuukka is just as solid a goaltender but his teammates just cannot connect when he is between the pipes. The Bruins got shut out today. Yeah, Varlamov was pretty decent in net but this was 2 points that the Bruins need to pick up (yeah its about the points again). Bad bounces, bad passes, lackluster effort, matinee game....all strong arguments for why the Bruins lost today's game. Excuses aside, this is the type of game the Bruins NEED to win all year long if they want a decent shot at getting a good seed in the playoffs.
Couple thoughts from this painful matinee affair.....
I like Tuukka. He's a real solid goaltender. He does not deserve to lose to Colorado when he only gives up 1 goal. I personally think his stay at home style kept this game close. After losing his starting job to Tim Thomas at the outset of last season, having a losing record while posting solid numbers, and picking splinters out of his ass for 25 playoff games, I think the kid has had a pretty positive attitude (yeah the $28,000 ring helps a bit). But Tuukka is not deserving of getting held out to dry and this is no way to have to start a season. Two U's, Two K's, No Points. What a shame.
Was it just me or did every pass that the Bruins attempt get checked by a Colorado stick? They were clogging passing lanes like...well...pro's. Pure Aggravation.
Now I don't want to kill the Bruins too bad for this loss because it wasn't for a lack of chances. The Bruins had several REAL scoring opportunities but the ice was soft and the puck was bouncy on this 80 degree October day. Still, the B's need to bury their chances.
Matinee games sure aren't too fond of the Bruins. I could probably count on 2 hands (using my somewhat foggy memory) the amount of matinee games that the Bruins have won over the past 5 years. For some reason or another they do not like waking up early and playing in the afternoon.
NESN play by play man Jack Edwards has to clean it up. The guy is a goober, plain and simple. Although he has good intentions, using "Tim Thomas-esque" to describe a third period highway robbery staged by Semyon Varlamov is ENTIRELY premature. I mean yeah, the guy had the greatest single season in NHL history for a goaltender, but I for one believe that you need to put a string of good seasons together to have your name be followed by "esque" (Think Roy, Hasek, Broudeur).
Maybe I did not get the memo, but when a team is down a goal in the waning minutes of the third period why should the 4th line, woops "energy line" be out on the ice trying to tie the game. Yeah yeah yeah Soupy and Co. played great last year and deserve a regular shift, but I really want to see the puck on Krejci's stick or Bergy's stick when it comes down to the wire. The 4th line gets paid to give the the other lines rest and score the occasional goal, just not when the team needs its real scorers on the ice.
Nathan Horton seems timid. Rightly so. In watching him battle for the puck he just isn't getting dirty enough. In Saturdays game with Tampa (solid w for sure, was just too hungover to write up my reaction) Horty was seen crossing the blue line in the exact same spot as the "incident" that occurred last season in Game 3 of the Finals, and boy did he know it, he pulled up short after hearing imaginary footsteps. I'll give him a pass for now, but we need production out of this boy and we needed it today for sure.
Next up is the Carolina Hurricanes on Wednesday at RBC Center. The Bruins cant afford to spot Division Favorite Buffalo an early season cushion when we have not played a divisional game yet. I would rather not have to listen to "The Hangover" talk in the early stages of the '11-'12 campaign.
AND...... Finding two day old dip spit in a beer bottle while cleaning up the house is fucking disgusting, no matter who's mouth it came out of.
Be Excellent to Each other and Go Bruins!

No comments:
Post a Comment