Monday, December 5, 2011

Hockey Pornography?


Boston Bruins 16-7-1....First in Northeast
 
29 teams in the NHL did not fare as well as the Boston Bruins did in the 2010/2011 season. Now they are getting a reminder of said futility. MOvember treated the Bruins extremely well as the garnered 25 of a possible 26 points. Muff duster staches a plenty, the Bruins steamrolled their competition (with the exception of Detroit) vaulting them from worst to first in the Northeast Division standings. Needless to say, the Boston Bruins get myself and other B's fans excited.

Talking points from this past month of Bruins Hockey....

Chris Kelly has officially swooped in and stole my heart. Too bad you cant get his jersey. The guy is playing lights out hockey on the third line with Rich Peverley and Benoit Puliot. Leads the team with 2 shorthanded goals while on pace for 34 goals this year. He plays down and dirty defense, and is eating humble pie all day every day. What a steal this guy was.

The kid is becoming a man. Tyler Seguin is making women feel a tingle in their naughty places (probably some men too) as he as already eclipsed his point total from his entire rookie season. Kid is a stud (not a bad looking fellow either). Not only does he lead the team in points, goals and plus minus....he gets to play on a line with Patrice Bergeron and Brad Marchand as the Bruins "second line" is fast becoming one of the more dominant and prolific scoring lines in the league. I wonder how he sleeps at night knowing that in 2 years hes going to be getting paid stupid amounts of money. 10 years for $100 million sounds like a nice number.

I guess when your +34 in goal differential your top 5 leaders in plus minus would naturally lead the league in that category. As a defenseman who didn't really score many goals, Plus Minus was my go to stat to justify why I belonged on the ice (even though Sieve probably deserved some serious credit for my gaudy plus minus numbers). Anyways, Seguin, Bergeron, Chara, Kelly and Marchand complete the sweep of the leaders all being +15 or better after 24 games. Daddy like.

Where would the Bruins be without their solid goaltender combo of Timmy and Tuukka. Holy Moly are they good. I could waste time by throwing out all these stats justifying why they are the best but their play speaks for itself.

Do they need to lose? Yup, they are long overdue and it would help them immensely in terms of keeping them grounded. We want to play our best in June, not necessarily in November. But if they keep wanting to win games I guess I will just have to suck it up and enjoy it. 

Now pardon me as I sit at my computer hitting refresh on the ESPN NHL Power Rankings page waiting impatiently for what I already know will be a #1 slot. Dont try to tell me I am pathetic because I already know I am. Go Bruins!

No comments:

Post a Comment