Here it is, the biggest letdown day in the history of the world. The first workday after Christmas. The day where we still feel like shit from all the damn food we ate and beer we drank with our families celebrating the birth of Jesus Christ our lord and savior. Thank you Jesus. There are many things that I am thankful for and here are the Top Three.
Uno: Much love for my family. Always a grand time when we spend the holidays together. I've said it once and will keep saying it....spending time with my relatives is the biggest battle of wits you will ever see. Everyone is always trying to one up eachother with a smart ass comment. Laughs are abundant. Shannon, if you are interested in upping your pictionary game, my family is the major leagues of that game.
Due: Almost earned the number one slot but nothing can beat that. The Boston Bruins make me happy. It is hard to critique this team. After their dreadful 3-7 start, this team has torn apart the competition amassing a 22-2-1 record since. +56 in goal differential (20 goals ahead of the second best team in Detroit), 9,count 'em 9 players with 20 or more points. If that doesn't show that the Bruins are a deep team then I don't know what does. Top notch goal tending (Sieve needs new shorts) in Timmy and Tuukka. Fast forward to June.
Inside scoop for everything Bruins here.
Tre: Although they make me want to puke most days, I am thankful for the New York Football Giants this season. Beating The Patsies and the Jets were glorious moments. Hopefully this team will not step on their own dicks Sunday and actually make the playoffs. Big Blue is coming off one of their best games defensively in recent memory and that can be attributed to JPP.
YOU DOWN WITH JPP??????
Now, as many of you like to say, I can be a bit of a downer sometimes...I must not disappoint. Here is my biggest gripe of 2011.
Fuck The NBA and Forget ESPN. My goodness do I despise these two entities. The NBA may just be the most embarrassing sports outfit in the land. Never have I seen a sport get disrupted by bad officiating as much as this league. There is no flow to this game because of all these tick-tack calls. As an AVID hockey fan, watching basketball is worse than watching paint dry. TOO MANY WHISTLES. Strap on some elbow and knee pads, put on a helmet and drive to the bucket and take a bump like a real man. Shame on ESPN for glorifying this sport. ESPN is losing my viewership (not that they give a shit) because of their lack of diversity on their television programs. Football and Basketball gets old very quickly when it gets airtime at nauseam. Thank the lord for the new NBC Sports Network. They will have the most balanced sports coverage on TV. All things sports, not just the sports they have TV contracts with.
UPDATE: My sources tell me that ESPN has failed to recognize NHL players that died tragically this offseason during a tribute to sports figures who passed in 2011. This is sickening. Shame on ESPN.
Todd's Favorite Moment of 2011....Like you even had to guess.

No comments:
Post a Comment