Monday, December 21, 2015

Tents #RollMasons, 8-1


 

 (Editors Note: Due to raving reviews, you all have been sentenced to a weekly write up.)

Before we get to the game recap, we need to set the stage a little bit.

On Saturday Night, Tent Hockey OG Norman Michael MacFarland hosted his annual Spruce Road Christmas party. The event was a MAJOR success, with over $1100 and 100 plus toys being donated to Project Uplift. This kid is quite literally an Angel. So all of you nitwits in the league who hate the kid because he is working harder than you on the ice, you might want to pay attention to what really matters.

During this fantasic event to support those who are less fortunate, event took a less than fortunate turn when a few players from the Masons began running their mouths. Saying that they were going to play a physical game and that the Tent Hockey Organization was going to be raped of its talent in the coming years. Antenna's Up.

The following morning word spread to every corner of the Tent Hockey Organization. From Upper Management all the way down to the guy that fills our water bottles (Who, Ironically, on most nights tends to be the same person), preparations were made ready for a physical game.

Then, The Game Started and it went a little something like this:

First Period:

Goal Tents, Goal Tents, Goal Tents.

Second Period:

Goal Tents, Goal Tents.

Third Period:

Goal Tents, Goal Masons, Goal Tents, Goal Tents.

To elaborate:

Those who talked a big game at Norm's Christmas Party probably should have warned their teammates and probably should have subsequently apologized to them post game for "Poking the Bear."

Big Tall Mr. Defense man on the Masons not named Mike Muniz, don't tell Andrew Fulford that you are going to "Bundle" him. You probably regretted that. When the Referee was questioned postgame for why there was no penalty on the play, he responded, "I was looking the other way."

Also, to the fella that speared me in the nuts after just minutes after we bonded over wearing the same color jersey (my fault). We can no longer be friends. Why do you think I went after you? I want my son to have a sibling, someday.

Hat Tricks by Norman Michael MacFarland and Brett Biondo, supplemented by a two goal effort from No Last Name Mike paced the Tents to victory.

TOM SALAH FIGURED HIS LIFE OUT (A claim solely based on his ability to show up for 1 game out of 8).

Todds Stat Line: 0 goals, 3 Assists and a +7. You would think I played like a God. Nope, whenever we play the Masons I play like dog shit. Something about them (no identifiable flow to their game, maybe) always makes me play horrendous. I would love to polish this turd like I do on most nights, but I simply cannot.

Hey Jack Doyle, How Does it feel to play for a winning team?

On that note, Happy Holidays to all. Enjoy the Holiday Roster Freeze. Nobody will lose their fake jobs this week.

Peace, Love and Save the Whales.

P.S. I heard the Mugs were supplying the entire league with Bauer team Sweatshirts. I will take a 3XL Tent Hockey Sweatshirt, please. Haha, "Tent"

Monday, December 14, 2015

Beer League Glory: A First Person Narrative of the Absurd.


                                 

There are many things in life that make a man happy. First Car, First Home, His favorite Pro team winning a championship (Fuck you Tom), and he may even have been laid a few times... but nothing compares to the 2 goal, 3 point performance in men's league hockey.

So there Todd was, sitting in the cramped locker room number two at DTMR aka The Tank, pondering one of lifes great questions, how miserable will my equipment smell when I unzip the gas chamber that is my equipment bag (rhetorical question). How miserable will it be putting on my jock strap that I have worn for ten consecutive years? Will this be the week that I can actually tie my skates with my pants on? Beyond all of the uncertainty, there was one definitive proclamation. Todd looks up and says to Jack Doyle.... "I'm going to score tonight." A bold strategy from a lifetime defensive defenseman's defensive defenseman. A man who has scored less goals in his life than years he has lived on this planet. (no word on how many goals scored in previous lives past). But in any case, something special was afoot.

Todd is feeling so overconfident, in fact, he blows off the "THIS MEANS YOU" sign at the gate to the ice banning all players from skating on the ice during resurfacing. Nobody pays attention to that sign. It's like it doesn't even exist. The only player on the Tents who does not wear his current issued jersey because its a little snug (hey, its like American eagle, Reebok discriminates against the "husky" man) so Todd is permanently stuck in throwback mode. Asked whether he lives in the past on purpose, "No Comment."

The puck is dropped to start the first period and we immediately have problems. Missing passes left and right. Falling on his ass TWICE, turning the puck over in the process. Todd has an abysmal first period. Staking the Elks to an early lead. But then something amazing happens. Its like god took over. Down 3-0 in the second, Michael Russo wins the draw, Jagr passes to Todd, Todd sauces to Jack Doyle, Jack Doyle fires a cross ice pass to Norm (BAE), Norm (BAE) gains entry to the Offensive zone and fires one past The Elks netminder and we now have ourselves a game!


                                                          Seemed appropriate.

 
                                                   *****************************

The third period is underway, and things look bleak. 5-2 advantage for the Elks. But folks, this is why you better fucking start coming to these games you lazy good for nothing no good dirty rotten scoundrels.

Andrew Fulford takes the puck up the right wing and has Elk Defenders closing in on him quickly. He looks for an open man, and unfortunately, he could only find Todd. Better to pass to the lifetime .000068 shooting percentage Defenseman than turn the puck over, he says to himself...... Thus bringing us to "The Pass." Fulford sauces the most saucy pass of all time from his back hand right into Todd's wheel house. Todd loads up his cannon and, making sure he keeps his weight forward as to not take someones ear, eye, nose or mouth out, one times a beauty off the far post and in. 5-3 Elks. Cue the over the top Celebration.

Jagr and Michael both feeding off Todd's energy, tie the game up at 5 heading into "Winning Time."

Then, after a lengthy debate whether David Krejci is a left handed or right handed shot, in which Andrew Fulford was able to shave $20 off his accounts payable because Todd has dad brain, a flat out Miracle occurred.

No last name Mike, who I recently found out his last name but will withhold it because its funnier this way, has the puck at the top of the offensive zone... fearing a turnover, Mike needs to make a pass. Of course he can only find the Defender with the newly improved .000069 shot percentage. He passes the puck right into Todd's wheelhouse and Todd, actively putting his weight forward, one times a beauty passed Sutera, who wanted to puke everywhere, for the GWG.

First off I want to thank Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior. That wasnt me scoring those goals. Jesus guided those pucks into the net just like he guides our lives to the path of righteousness.

Second, I want to thank my teammates for giving me this opportunity. Putting up with my "eccentric" ways can be a struggle.

Finally... I called my shot. Like Babe Ruth. I called it. That makes me, for at least the next week, the man. Deal with it.

Barf bags available upon request.

Peace.



Tuesday, December 8, 2015

Tent Hockey Update



The Tents are mother fucking BACK BABY! (Early side note: Momma, meaning Emily, doesn't like the amount of profanity I have been slinging on the home front so I'm bout to sling it here because that little fuck face cant read) I love you Owen, Dad didn't mean that.

Off season training regiment involved gaining a bunch of baby weight... yes it happens to fathers, too. Some kind molecular physiology, you cant argue with nature. So getting in the swing of things this season had quite the learning curve. But have no fear,  the Tents returned cancer free and in TIP TOP shape. (Only a few cubic yards of throw up have been found on the bench thus far.)

New additions:

Mike. Thats it. Mike. Dont know his last name. Quiet folk he is. But man is he good. Maybe Todd should ask him about his training. He's got the wind. He's got the moves. He's got the shot. And he has no problem getting into tussles.

Jack Doyle: Speaking of Nitwits, Mason's management put Jack Doyle on waivers and the Tents were quick to claim him. Solid Team Guy. Gets the Job Done. Until Tom Salah figures out his life, which could be tomorrow or in 2020, Jack Doyle will be a regular fixture in the starting line up. 

Lets go over the results so far:

Game One: Tents Win, Kings Lose.
Game Two: Tents Win, Gulls Lose.
Game Three: Tents Win, Elks Lose.
Game Four: Masons Game Postponed until TBA because of that GOSH DARN TOM BRADY
Game Five: Tents Win, Mugs Lose. By 6.
Game Six: Tents Win, Kings Lose.
Game Seven: The Tents and Gulls kiss their sisters. Stupid Ties.

If you know how to count, that means the Tents are 5-0-1-0. Leading the league with 11 points and have 1 game in hand on a couple contenders. Goaltending has been Dynamite. Defense has been Dynamite. Offense has been Dynamite. A+ for the Tents. Im qualified to give B's, C's, D's and F's to the rest. I'm not in the business of offending anyone so I'm not gonna assign grades to each team. But if you and your teammates are honest with yourselves, and are realistic human beings, you know exactly what grade you deserve. But being a realistic human can be tough, for some of you.

Norman Macfarland needs a left handed stick. He must be waiting for the League to reimburse teams for equipment breakage. The league kindly gave the middle finger.

Quote of the season to date "You're Drunk. Go Home."

Also, If I stick check the puck off your stick, and I celebrate it. Don't be offended. I'm proud of myself. Dont get stick checked next time.

Until next time.... Fuck Donald Trump (And to a lesser degree, The Republican Party) and Fuck Guns.

Namaste.

P.S. Head butting is frowned upon.


Tuesday, November 17, 2015

We Have Something Special Going On Here, You Guys.

To:      Friends of Pat Patriot and Big Blue
From:  Brian Doyle
RE:     Giants vs. Patriots
Date:   11/17/15

After attending the past three regular season games between the Giants and the Patriots, as well as viewing two Super Bowl match-ups on television in 2008 and 2012, I have come to the determination that the Giants and the Patriots may have played the top five games in the entire NFL from 2007 to Present.

After leaving Metlife stadium on Sunday night, after a particularly heart wrenching defeat, I can honestly say that it was the greatest game I have ever witnessed. Bar none. And that makes me smile.

I really don't know what the answer is.... But WHY do the Patriots and Giants ALWAYS play in thrilling games? Why (save for 16-0 game in '07, which still qualifies as a thrilling game) do all of their games get decided in the final drive? Is it because the Patriots have the potential GOAT QB? Probably. Is it because Eli Manning has balls of steel? Probably. Is it because Tom Coughlin and Bill Bellichick are two of the best coaches in the game? Probably. Lucky? Yeah maybe in SB 42. Regardless of the reason, our two fan bases have been treated to the best 5 game series (regardless of your allegiance) based on sheer entertainment value likely of all time.

See here's the thing, After Sunday nights game for the ages, I am no longer concerned with who looks like he has downs syndrome, who is the GOAT, or who is the only team in the past 10 years who can say they can  call the Patriots their bitch. I know there are a few Jabronis on both sides that are too thick headed to see the forest for the trees. But I can tell that there is mutual respect on both sides because I'm not sure I got one in your face comment from anyone after Sunday nights game.

Here are the facts:

- The Giants play the Patriots the best out of anyone, even if they are a mediocre team.

- The Patriots are a Great team led by an all time great.

- Eli Manning IS, in fact, a Great Quarterback.

- In the past 8 years the Giants are 3-2 against the Patriots, including Two Super bowls.

- The Patriots have won Four Superbowls since Y2K.

Bottom line is we have something special going on here, you guys. Lets not fuck it up by talking shit (READ: JABRONIS). Lets embrace the fact that on any given day, Either team is probably going to win the game in the last two minutes. Which at the end of the day, makes for great entertainment.

Go Giants!


Tuesday, May 12, 2015

An Open Letter To Patriots Fans



Dear those who WORSHIP the Flying Elvis,

(This applies to some, not all Patriots fans) but sorry I'm not sorry.

First. The Patriots are one of the most successful franchises in the NFL. They are tied with the Green Bay Packers and New York Giants for the third most Super Bowl Victories in NFL history. Which means they are not the best ever. Because we use "all time", not "Since 2000." You sucked for a time, just like everyone else.

You may not like what I have to say, you may even call me ignorant. But that should be right in your wheelhouse.

There is a reason everyone hates the Patriots. There is a reason everyone wants the Patriots to lose. There is a reason why, when Tom Brady gets suspended for four games, I (and probably 100 million other people) grinned from ear to ear. We dont hate Tom Brady, We dont hate Bill Belichick, We dont hate Robert Kraft. We hate you.

You, the front running, sore losers, even sorer winners. Just like the kid at the supermarket that wont shut the fuck up until he gets his candy. Or the kid that got the best toy and flaunts it. Or the kid that takes his ball and goes home. You ruin the Patriots. You are the reason why people are happy the Patriots fail. I have never seen fans sell ex star players down the river faster than you guys (see. Vinatieri, Welker, Revis). But you do it with relative ease and with alot of vitriol.

As a Giants fan who lives firmly entrenched in "Patriots Nation," I have observed Patriots fans in their natural habitat. Honestly, I relish being a Troll because you EAT IT UP. I was spit upon on February 4th, 2008 and I was threatened bodily harm with a glass beer bottle on February 5th, 2012. All because poor sports couldn't handle losing. But being the sore losers is not the problem.... The real issue is when you win.

If there was an insufferable index, Patriots Nation would break the scale. Get an 11 on a scale of 1-10.

See here's the thing. We don't hate you because we aren't you. In fact, I love the fact that I'm not you. I love being a humble, respectful fan of the game. I love not shoving success down peoples throats.

OK I lied. I LOVE the fact that Eli Manning.... ELI MANNING, I'm quoting Pats fans directly, "The Mouth Breathing Horrendous Duck Throwing kid who looks like he has down syndrome who sits when he pees" BEAT YOU IN THE SUPER BOWL TWICE. That abomination of a human being is the only quarterback to beat "The G.O.A.T." in the Super Bowl. For shame. Lets call him names and insult him.

Tom Brady, who is one of, if not the greatest, QB's of all time does not give a shit about you.

Bill Belichick, who is one of, if not the greatest, Coaches of all time does not give a shit about you.

Robert Kraft, who is one of, if not the greatest Owners in pro sports history, does not give a shit about you.

They are just gladly taking your hard earned money. You are nothing more than a Ben Franklin, or two, to them.

You support them blindly, unwilling to call a spade a spade. Unwilling to concede that they are not perfect. Unwilling to embrace the notion that your team, which you love so dearly, has been caught cheating twice.

Believe it or not, There are two sides to every coin. Transparency is obviously not ubiquitous throughout sport. But just because OJ got away with murder doesnt mean you can. Taking the high road sometimes can be a beautiful ride.

To take a page out of B-Rabbits book....

I am a troll, my quarterback is ugly, your quarterback, coach, owner and team are the best.

Love,
Brian





                   P.S. Literally the most hilarious thing I've seen regarding all this deflate gate bullshit.