Friday, January 21, 2011

PATS: Embarrassing or Embarrassed, That is the Question


Over the past week, I continually heard how the New York Jets completely and utterly embarrassed the Pats on Sunday. As expected, this statement was a bit hard for me to digest, mainly because I fucking despise anything and everything having to do with New York, especially the Jets. But before I go any further, I would like to clear something up: you know as well as I that we shouldn’t have beat the Jets by 42 points in our second regular season meeting; to say this triumphant win caught the nation entirely off guard would have been an understatement.

But naturally, following a colossal victory such as the one in week 13, it would only make sense to hold the highest expectations possible for a repeat performance, especially when playing a postseason game in Foxboro.

However, two dropped “gimmes” in the end zone (Crumpler/Welker), a botched fake punt, and the first interception by TFB in 340 pass attempts all contributed to the collapse of the Patriots. Yet, in light of all of these mishaps, I’m not quite sure where the Pats were EMBARRASED by the Jets; these were errors made on behalf of New England. And we’re not talking justifiable errors, we’re talking a miserable interception thrown in, I guess, the ‘general vicinity’ of the Law Firm, 14 points left on the field via dropped TD’s, and an additional 7 for the Jets following an uncharacteristic fake punt from Pats’ own 38-yard line with 1:14 remaining in the first half.

Was the defense lit up? Well, as Bart Scott put it, “They couldn’t stop a nose bleed.” Did the offensive line show up? Didn’t seem like it, with 5 sacks allowed (there were seven total sacks allowed in the final four games of the season.) So were the Patriots embarrassed? You bet, but nay at the hands of the Jets; rather, at the hands of themselves.

-Coon

No comments:

Post a Comment