Monday, February 14, 2011
Mario Lemieux......L-7 WEEEENIEEE
Over this past weekend, NHL great Mario Lemieux broke his silence over his thoughts of the leagues disciplinary procedures after his Pittsburgh Penguins lost a 9-3 Laugher/Brawl fest at the hands of the LOWLY New York Islanders. "Hockey is a tough, physical game, and it always should be. But what happened Friday night on Long Island wasn't hockey. It was a travesty, It was painful to watch the game I love turn into a sideshow like that." Now I must admit this much, The Islanders are pathetic and the display they put on in that DUMP of an arena was despicable. But Really Mario, Really? You've got some serious balls to come out and say what you did. Balls that you completely lacked during your playing days, too.
I will tell you what is a "Travesty," Mario. A player on your payroll coming across the ice and giving a blindside elbow to Marc Savard's Temple. Potentially ruining his career. The same player that just got suspended no more than a week ago for one of the dirtiest hits of the season. If you want to get rid of the so called "sideshow" aspect of the NHL, look no further than releasing your very own Matt Cooke. Pathetic. Another thing, how can you possibly complain about fighting in the sport of hockey when YOUR TEAM leads the league in fighting majors and penalties. Now, again, at least 10 of those came at the hands of the Islanders but that still would put the Penguins in the Top 5. Karma is a BITCH.
Mario even complained about the discipline handed down by the NHL. The two players who sparked each brawl, received a cumulative 13 games in suspensions (they wont even be missed). The financially strapped Islanders were also given a 100,000 dollar fine for their antics. Seems pretty fair to me.
"If the events relating to Friday night reflect the state of the [NHL], I need to rethink whether I want to be a part of it." As YA-YA put it so elequently in the family movie "Sandlot"...he is an L-7 Weenie. In harsher terms, Super Mario is a Flaming Pussy with a serious yeast infection. My man and hockey insider Scott Burnside of ESPN.com hit the nail right on the head with his editorial this morning. Mario is a "Delicate Flower." In a little more than a round about way of saying it, Mario is a Spoiled Little Brat that needs to disappear entirely. SHUT THE FUCK UP until you can say that your team is no longer part of this "sideshow."
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

Agreed. Yes, the game was a shit show, but the Pens had it coming to them. I was surprised the Pens didn't show a little more respect to DiPietro's broken face. They laughed it off, and Johnson thought it was great. Why not show some class and say it's too bad that Dipietro got hurt. I mean, the guy is always hurt, but that's no reason to rub it in. And yeah, Matt Cooke is brutal.
ReplyDelete