Wednesday, March 30, 2011

Tuesday, March 29, 2011

Aint Nothin' But A G Thing



 Bruins 3 - Blackhawks 0

Coming off a playoff clinching W in Philadelphia two days ago, the Bruins hit the TD Garden ice on Tuesday trying to prepare themselves for the second season. What better way to do it than play the defending Stanley Cup Champion Chicago Blackhawks? Now lets not get TOO high on this Bruins victory tonight, as the Blackhawks had to pull out all the stops only one night earlier to snag an OT win in Detroit. After a hard fought, evenly matched first period, it was evident that the Hawks were gassed. The Bruins took control with goals from Zdeno Chara (14), Johnny Boychuk (3) and Nathan Horton (24). Tim Thomas recorded shut out number 9 with 32 saves as Chicago's Corey Crawford stopped 31.

Couple thoughts from tonight's game....

Mark Recchi is my Homeboy...I want that made into a T-shirt. The guy is simply a gamer. Notching point number 1,532 last night, the 42 year old still has some gas left in his tank. He has notched 47 points this season. Guy brings new meaning to the term ageless.

Chara haters....PLEASE tell me why he is not an important asset to the team. I got all day. Mother Fucker is solid. Since the Max Pacioretty hit, Chara has played in all ten games and has 11 points (3-8-11) and a + 10 rating. Captain Z-day-no.

I am running out of one liners regarding the solid play of Tim Thomas. It must be the porn star mustache. 2 goals allowed in his last 4 starts (4 wins) bringing his GAA back under 2. Once again, Thomas came up with key stops to keep the Bruins in the lead. Great positioning combined with great scrambling ability makes him a tough goaltender to solve.

Shawn Thornton is one sick fuck. How many people do you know can take a sharpened skate blade to the beak, get up immediately, and THEN challenge the opponents bench while leaking oil. Not I. Not to mention the pugilistic 4th liner has 18 points on one of the most productive 4th lines in the league.

Nathan Horton scored his 4th goal in as many games. Can't find any reason to complain aboot his game in the past two weeks. Just working hard and getting rewarded. Horton hears a WOOOOO.

After their grueling win last night in Detroit, which saw Chicago play its top forwards for 20 minutes plus (alot of minutes), it was obvious that the Hawks just couldn't keep up. Although they had their chances, the Hawks just could not control the play as the game turned into one that had the "take care of business" feel. Which the Bruins were able to do. 

Michael Ryder and Steven Kampfer are still riding the pine. Cant see any reason why they wont be picking splinters out of their behinds during the playoffs as all 4 lines as presently constituted seem to be working well. Sorry Snip, you had your chances. Kampfer is a serious rookie and has shown some inexperience of late and needs more time.

AND....Can you smell what The Rock is cooking?

With the win, the Bruins improve to 96 points while holding down the 3 seed in the East. At this point, its all about getting into a rhythm heading into the playoffs and playing consistent, two way hockey. They look for some retribution on Thursday as the Take on the Leafs at the Garden. The Doyle Brothers WILL be in attendance. Go Bruins.

Monday, March 28, 2011

The 2011 Season Starts Friday!?!?!?!?!



Holy Hell. I need to buy a new hat before Friday because it marks the beginning of another long arduous journey that we call the MLB regular season. If you lived under a rock this off season, you missed out on the fact that the Sox spent 1 Trillion dollars on new acquisitions that should bring them back to the promise land.......

Starting 9:

Carl Crawford, stud. Dustin Pedrioa, stud. Kevin Youkilis, stud. Adrian Gonzalez, Stud. David Ortiz, former/current stud.  JD Drew, dece.  Jarrod Saltalamacchia, good backstop. Jacoby Ellsbury, Studly....having a great spring. And Marco Scutaro, key role player.

I think every single team in the league, minus maybe 1 or 2 teams, would take this line up any day...If they could afford it. I knew there was a reason why tickets cost so damn much. No Joke people, the Sox offense will be potent this season. Chalk it up to the AL leading offense, in my opinion. But hitting homers, stealing bases, and just being a well oiled offensive machine is not the concern for this team. That would have to be the guys who dont take batting practice who have me worried.

Starting Rotation

Jon Lester .....Stud. Clay Buchholz....Stud. John Lackey....Solid. Josh Beckett..... wait and see. And Diasuke.....Who the hell knows. Bullpen....anything is better than last year.

This spring, Our pitching has been a real concern. Just getting lit up left and right. Beckett needs to figure it out or he will be making the easiest 60 million in the history. There have been a few solid spring starts...but not enough to get excited over. I guess we shall see what happens.

The Sox are gonna lose some games. Fact. But they are gonna win alot of games too. Some people think over 100 but I would not be in that category. That is a hard sell in this division. I do believe we will snag the division. But predicting anything after that is nonsensical. Go Sox.

Sunday, March 27, 2011

Game Changer

  Bruins 2 - Flyers 1

Fuckin' A, Bruins, Fuckin' A. Playing the Conference leading Philadelphia Flyers on the second night of a back to back, The B's brought their lunch pails to work tonight at ground out a solid victory. The Bruins got power play goals from Nathan Horton (23) and Brad Marchand (20). Kris Versteeg scored the opening goal of the game giving the Flyers the early lead. The Bruins played great hockey there after and clinched a playoff spot with the two points. Tim Thomas stopped 27 with Brian Boucher saving 34.

Couple thoughts from tonight's game..,...

Did you say...umm...Power Play? The much maligned power play provided all of the Bruins offense at critical times in the game. The Bruins capitalized on juicy rebounds with poise and great stick-handling in front of the net. Seguin brings energy to that second unit and it would be the right time for the PP to be a weapon for the B's rolling into the playoffs.

OG Tim Thomas has been rock solid. Only allowing 2 goals in his last three games has been a welcome sight after a "lull" in his game since the All Star Break. Timely saves, many point blank, tonight, kept the Bruins in the game and gave them confidence.

Brad Marchand score his 20th goal of the season. It has been 13 games since last goal but this was a big one. Scrapping in front of the net for a game winning garbage goal (with Boucher, that happens.) Nice to see him break the slump and hopefully he can get right for the stretch run.

Nathan Horton has really found his game. Three goals in three games has Horton pacing the top line. Great dangle for the goal tonight at the top of the crease for the tying tally. Paired with Krejci and Lucic, the trio has been a top producer for the 5th best offense in the league.

Michael Ryder is in the Chateau bow wow. Scratched from the line up for the second time this season, it is apparent Coach Claude Julien is sending the message to the winger to bring his game each and every night. When Paille and Seguin are both playing, someone is either injured or in the Dog House. Unfortunately for Snip, hes not injured.

Side note: Montreal has not scored in over 185:05. After scoring 8 goals in Minnesota 3 games ago, The Habs couldn't hit water if they fell out of a boat. Ouch.

AND....Obama fucked up his bracket.

With the Win, the Black and Gold clinch a playoff spot. Holding securely to the North East Division lead over Montreal at 7 points with 1 in hand. Its looking more and more like the Bruins have likely found themselves entrenched in the third position in the Conference. Good Win.

Friday, March 25, 2011

Somebody call 911.......


.....The Habs got murdered last night. Words cannot describe the performance put on by the B's tonight. Complete and Total DOMINATION. In what was billed as the most important game of the season with the Habs looked to win one for "Patches" (Max Pacioretty) after he got bundled by Zdeno Chara, the Bruins brought their A game. Goals by Nathan Horton (21,22) Gregory Campbell (11,12) Thomas Kaberle (4) Adam McQuaid (3) and Johnny Boychuk (2) paced the Bruins to the shutout victory.

Couple (8) Thoughts about last nights drubbing.....

The TD Garden was bumping last night. There were not many moments last night where the fans did not have reason to cheer. It didn't matter if you were sitting in the best seat, or the worst seat in the house.....all that matters was you were in the building.

During the second period, the Habs tried their darndest to get back in the game. The Bruins were on their heels for a few minutes (only a few) and that prompted Coach Claude Julien to call a time out. Solid coaching. After said timeout, the Bruins did not allow a shot for the rest of the period.

Tim Thomas, although not having a lot of work during the game, was rock solid. Posting his 8th shutout of the season and gaining more confidence heading down the stretch. The Defense kept his sight lines clean and clear making most shots a cakewalk.

Greg Campbell had the goal of the night.....the Bruins were trying to kill off a 5-3 disadvantage and Soupy had the balls to steal the puck and snip over Alex Aulds right shoulder on the breakaway for the rare 2 man down shortie. Please note, Montreal Defender James Wisniewski completely gave up on the play allowing the breakaway.

The Bruins first line (Horton, Krejci, Lucic) was DOMINANT last night. Posting an 8 point night. Two goals from Horton and 3 Assist a piece from Krejci and Lucic. Great passing, great shooting and great offensive pressure. Need that in the playoffs.

The Power Play looked solid on the 4 minute power play at the end of the First. The B's kept offensive zone possession for the majority of that double minor. Capping the hard work with a easy goal for Horton. Keeping that much solid pressure on a teams PK will ultimately lead to goals. Keep that up.

Tomas Kaberle scored his first goal as a Bruin. Although it was during garbage time (the last ten minutes in the 3rd), it was still great to see the d-man get his first tally at home. Hopefully Mr. Kaberle likes the energy of this town and he wants to stay here for years to come and signs a multi-year extension. Please and Thank you.

TV play by play man Jack Edwards after Kaberle's goal...."Its a six-pack for the Bruins. BOTTOMS UP!"

AND.... Shannon's survey was the HARDEST survey I have every had to participate in. Just ask Coon and Zeke.

With the win, the Bruins have 92 points and push their lead to 5 points in the Division with two in hand over the Hapless Habs. Really nothing else to say, The Bruins made the Habs their bitch last night. Lets just hope they can convey this type of energy and effort into the postseason. Go Bruins!

Thursday, March 24, 2011

Habs vs. Bruins 7 p.m. @ TD Garden




I HATE MONTREAL. Bunch of frauds up there in la la land. Go Bruins!


No one in their right minds would EVER call 911 to get an NHL player arrested for an Interference penalty gone wrong.


Crying Little Babies!

Tuesday, March 22, 2011

AYO for YAYO



 Bruins 4 - Devils 1

Quit your fucking panicking. The Bruins picked the right time to get back in the win column. Playing one of the hottest teams in the NHL in the New Jersey Devils, the Bruins got solid performances from everyone involved scoring four unanswered goals (Thornton (9), Chara (13), Lucic (30), and Recchi (13 ENG)) after giving up the opening tally to Ilya Kovalchuk on a first period power play. Tim Thomas stopped 30 shots (thwarting 16 in the opening frame.)

Couple thoughts from tonight's game.....

After a couple "spirited" practices after Saturday night's debacle north of the border, it was apparent that it translated to the garden ice. The B's won numerous battles in the offensive zone and maintained pressure and played the physical style that suits them so well.

ALERT THE MEDIA....the Bruins scored on the power play! First 5-4 goal since 2/18. A beautiful cross ice feed from Lucic to Chara led to Big Z (3 points) depositing the biscuit in the back of the net. This will hopefully jump start the sluggish Power Play heading towards the postseason.

Milan Lucic is a BIG BALLER. Scoring 30 goals in a season for the first time in his career. A healthy, hungry Milan Lucic is a productive Milan Lucic. Got a SWEET behind the back feed from Patrice Bergeron late in the third period to put this game on ice....Pun Intended.

Thomas Kaberle shows zero emotion. To be honest, that may be a good thing. Just doing his damn thing on the ice. The Czech tallied two helpers tonight and is starting to become a solid producer for this team.

Andrew Ference returned tonight for the B's after missing a large chunk of games due to injury while Brad Marchand returned after a two game suspension. Tyler Seguin was paired with Chris Kelley and Rich Peverly and they looked really good.

AND....Diet Coke tastes way better than Coca Cola. FACT.

With the win, the Bruins eclipse the 90 point mark with 10 games remaining. Still sitting in 3rd in the conference and first in their division. Montreal lost to Buffalo 2-0 at home tonight to give the Bruins a 3 point lead with 2 games in hand before a HUGE clash between the two clubs on Thursday @ The Garden. OH BABY.......

Monday, March 21, 2011

Da Fuck is Wrong with the Bruins?


1-3-3 in their last 7 games. Garbage. They better wake their asses up if they have any hopes of getting out of the first round. Montreal is breathing down our necks and if we dont watch out, we could lose home ice in the first round. 

Saturday, March 19, 2011

It was 5 years ago today.......



This may read egotistically. But hey, whatever.

Look at those three beautiful children in Fisherman Uni's. Ya'll can call me gay, straight, stupid, a loser....or say that I'm living in the past. Well guess what, even if all of those were true....I'd still tell you to go fuck yourself because what happened exactly 5 years ago today, will probably wind up rivaling the memories of my future marriage, birth of my first child etc. We won the MIAA State Championship 2-1 vs. Coyle Cassidy at the TD Garden. We got to skate on that ice, and to put it frankly, we deserved it because we were damn good. Retards? Yes. Super Awesome? Without question. Did the MBTA create an extra train just so all you muffs could see us play? Yea, they did, and I bet they regretted that decision.

The manner in which we won, to put it conservatively, would have given your grandfather a heart attack. Mama Brunson (Judy Doyle) was so nervous that she found herself in the bathroom so she didn't have to watch. The Crowd, against St. Mary's, was fucking epic. We thank you for that. But above all you should be thanking us for the great service we (TJS) provided this town. A State Championship.

What better way to celebrate the 5th anniversary you ask? Why we are going to the scene of the crime to watch the Hockey East Finals. Sitting in the balcony with fellow teammates of the championship era slugging brews. Sign me up. I will be 75 years old and I will still remember what glorious memories were had on March 19th, 2006, but above all, I will make sure I tell you about it.

Wednesday, March 16, 2011

Julie "The Cat" vs. Gunnar Stahl....who you got?


What a save! I mean really, WHAT A SAVE! "The Cat" flashed the glove like my man Sieve back in the glory days. Gunnar Stahl though he could sneak that slap shot by Julie's lightning quick glove side reflexes. But he was sorely mistaken. That save won the Ducks the JR. Goodwill Games Gold Medal. Gordon Bombay with the Hall of Fame coaching decision sealed the deal for the Ducks.

O.K. folks, as much as The Mighty Ducks Trilogy was an epic, important part of every hockey players childhood, I have got to say they could have found some kids that could at the very least skate. The Jr. Goodwill Games would be lucky if 1000 people (including family members) showed up to the gold medal game. And you could bet your wife and kids that a District 5 team from Minnesota would not beat Gunnar Stahl and the best that Iceland has to offer.

If you want to see a real Hockey Movie, check out "Miracle". It will not disappoint.

This Win was UGLY....But a Win Nonetheless


Bruins 3 - Blue Jackets 2 (S/O)

The Bruins got away with one last night. They did not give their best effort, by any means, but were able to grind those bitches down and come away with the victory. David Krejci (11) and Rich Peverley (16 SHG) buried the biscuit for the Bruins in regulation with Young Blood Tyler Seguin putting his skills on display scoring the lone shootout goal. Tuukka Rask got the W in net as the Bruins halted a 4 game losing streak.

Couple thoughts from the game.....

Two U's, Two K's, Two Points....Tuukka was HUGE last night. Easily made 3 or 4 highlight reel saves last night as the Bruins were trying to withstand pressure all night. Great positioning, and a sense of calm from the netminder as he bailed out his team on more than one occasion.

Last nights game made Peter Chiarelli look like a God among men. 2 of the 3 players acquired at the deadline saved the Bruins victory. My new heartthrob Rich Peverley had a b-e-a-utiful shorthanded goal to tie the game late in the third and Tomas Kaberle stood on the goal line to block a shot out of mid air in overtime to keep the game alive. Viva San Pietro!

Is it just me or are the Bruins ALWAYS on the short end penalty calls? Last night the Bruins had to kill off 6 man advantages while only getting 1 power play opportunity. I kind of find it hard to believe that the Bruins are playing this undisciplined, but this is Boston Bruins Hockey.

Many feel like the Bruins played a bad brand of hockey last night. That they looked sluggish at times. While this might be the case, We can not discount the speed and skill of the Blue Jackets attack. This Columbus team is lightyears faster than the Bruins. If they could play well consistently, they would be a real playoff contender.

As Fulford pointed out to me, whenever Rick Nash has the puck on his forehand in the offensive zone, you almost get a bad feeling. This guy is a sniper. He is a free agent either this year or next and hopefully he stays out west unless he chooses the 8 spoked B.

Please, for the love of God, Nathan Horton has to stop hesitating on his chances because he couldn't hit water if he fell out of a boat last night. I have never seen a player miss so many golden opportunities. And another thing, the Bruins often decide not to crash the net. Why? That is beyond me. But crash the net boys, it will pay off.

AND...... Tim Thomas' Mustache is Pornstar-esque.


With the Shootout win, The Bruins increase their lead in the division over Montreal to 4 points with one game in hand. White-hot Washington leads the Bruins by 5 points for second place in the Eastern Conference having played 2 more games. The home stretch is here boys and girls and the Bruins still need to prove that they belong with the Big Boys.

Tuesday, March 15, 2011

Its Official....Everyone HATES Montreal.


In response to the YAHOOS outside Bell Centre protesting the Zdeno Chara hit, Washington Capitals Head Coach Mr. Bruce Boudreau had this to say:

"I don't want to get into a controversy, but what if that was Hal Gill that hit David Krejci? I don't think there would be a protest going on here today." 

Money. Habs fans are yahoos. Homer-ism personified. Every time a Canadiens player falls the fans cry for a penalty. Montreal Radio suggested on-air that fans should call the police demanded Chara's arrest. It was not till after the suspension, that they decided to seek criminal investigation. Y-A-H-O-O. VIA Rial, Air Canada and Molsen are all based in Montreal...Go figure. To quote Don Cherry (paraphrased)"If Zdeno Chara tried to hurt someone, He would kill them." Gimme a break Habs fans, you are making yourselves look worse than you already do.

Got that Badonk!


Ass so fat that you can see it from the front.

Monday, March 14, 2011

Count Your Blessings.....Twice.


 For real folks, just stop, sit back, and think about how lucky you are to be able to bitch about whatever it is that is making your Monday terrible. You could be in Japan....without a home, missing family, or even dead. I was reading the NY Times this morning sipping on some Orange Juice and consuming a delicious BEC on a Sesame bagel, I took one look at this photo on the front page and I lost my appetite. Drink a beer, smoke a blunt, or just be a better person today for the people of Japan. Because, I'm sure, they would love to deal with your problems today.

Saturday, March 12, 2011

Friday, March 11, 2011

Bruins Lose. Zeke Loses. Todd, Erica and Jilleen WIN

 

Sabres 4 - Bruins 3 - Zeke 0  (OT)

John Vizena apparently did not get a chance to read  Fear of the Unknown OR Binky of the New Age before attending last nights Bruins game. I think you guys get the picture. The Bruins lost to the Sabres in overtime last night in what was a good game, but the outcome was controlled by the zebra's playing favorites. The Bruins got goals from Nathan Horton, Mark Recchi and Gregory Campbell. While the Sabres got tallies from Tyler Ennis, Thomas Vanek, Tim Connolly and former Bruin Brad Boyes.

A few thoughts from last nights game........

Any team that gets a 7-3 advantage in power plays, ESPECIALLY when the Sabres had two 5 on 3 power plays for 1:30, should win. The Bruins did a superb job for the most part but who expects the Bruins to kill off both 2 man disadvantages. Could this be the NHL making up for the Chara ruling? Maybe, Maybe not.

Tim Thomas made a few spectacular saves to help the Bruins secure 1 point in last nights game. KICK SAVE AND A BEAUTY (Love you Sieve).

Milan Lucic is a BIG BALLER. It is official. He is a 30 goal scorer and a fighter once again. He brings the toughness, along with Horton, that fuels this team throughout the game. If you told me Milan Lucic would have 30 plus goals and be a tough SOB all year, I would not have believed you.

Brad Boyes knocked in the overtime winner. This was a HUGE deadline deal for the Sabres. This kid is a serious offensive threat. He will fuel this Sabres team, who sucked at the outset, to the playoffs and with any luck, will do some damage.

As much as it pains me to say, but, I kinda like Buffalo fans. Real Gentlemen. I had the pleasure of meeting 4 of them last night and shook all their hands while telling them to go buy some lottery tickets because they were getting lucky. They were able to give shit while being able to take shit. I was so impressed with their respect for our barn that I even defended them when the cops broke up their scrum with a Bruins fan who spit at them. There is hope for us to team up and murder the Canadiens.

AND....if you want to stay beyond the halfway point of the game, dont piss off the wrong fat chicks.

With the OT loss, the Bruins gained one point on MTL coupled with their loss. Buffalo is solidifying their position in the Eastern Conference Playoff picture. The Bruins head to Long Island tonight for a bout with the Islanders. Gotta have this win.

(Credit to Erica Mitchell for the Fantastic Photos.)

Thursday, March 10, 2011

Sabres vs. Bruins 7 p.m. @ TD Garden


After one of the most embarrassing games of the season, the Bruins return home to regain their dignity and momentum against a solid Sabres squad. Zdeno Chara was not suspended or fined for his hit on Max Pacioretty Tuesday night in Montreal. There are probably riots in Montreal right now because of the ruling (or lack there of). But hey, its all in how you interpret the hit. This means the Bruins will not be 2x shorthanded on the back end against a solid Buffalo offense. 

Id bet my life on Tim Thomas starting, after Tuukka and co laid an egg. Success starts with solid goaltending and Timmy brings it.

I am praying that the Bruins spent all practice on Wednesday prepping their power play. Too stagnant and not enought production has been killing them. I expect to see movement around the net and below the dots to create more chances other than straight blasts from the point.

The Bruins have a three game lead in the Northeast Division and need the two points to hold ground in the conference. The Sabres are clinging to 8th in the conference with a 1 point advantage on Carolina as 2 points for these teams are HUGE.

BREAKING NEWS: Todd and Co. will be in attendance. A "couple" beverages will be consumed as we watch the Black and Gold try to get back on track. Full in depth analysis post game from Todd and possibly Zeke.

Prediction: The Bruins answer the call for better play. Bruins 3 - Sabres 2

Wednesday, March 9, 2011

Ouch Chara....That Really Hurt.


Hits like these, intentional or not, bring everyone down to earth and realize that this could happen to anyone, at anytime, for no reason at all. As much as I hate the Habs, I was worried for Max Pacioretty's well being. Best Wishes on a Fast and Speedy Recovery Max.

Tuesday, March 8, 2011

Put This One Behind You, Boys.




Aweful game. There is no way around it. We went into the lion's den tonight and got eaten alive. Here are a couple thoughts for anyone who cares......

Everyone better hope Max Pacioretty is O.K. As much as I hate Montreal, I will never wish an injury upon one of their players. I can't see this upcoming ruling going in Zdeno Chara's favor, because of how bad the hit actually looked. But I can't see how that was intentional.

The Centre Bell is a tough barn to play in. They always get up for the game when the Bruins are in town. They are loud and obnoxious and that helps the Habs a lot. The Habs have had our number this year.

Right from the outset of this contest, Carey Price was on his game. Saved everything that came his way, minus Looch's borderline garbage time goal. When this kid is hot, he is hot. Same when he is not, he is not. But he was hot tonight.

The Bruins offense was garbage all night. All of their shots came from the perimeter, they couldn't handle passes consistently, and they were getting out-physicalled almost the whole time.  (Oh hey, whats up RMC)

Personally, I think the power play has gotten worse since the Kaberle addition. The forwards on the man advantage are WAY too stagnant. No movement down low as they expect Kaberle to do all the work for them. Movement unclogs the seems and leads to more opportunities.

AND.... A growler of ale makes the loss easier to handle.

With the loss, the Bruin's lead in the division is cut to three. Don't even start thinking about thinking about pushing the panic button as this is the first game in 9 where they have failed to gain at least a point. Just gotta bring a solid effort on Thursday because Todd will be in attendance at the Garden and he wants his monies worth.

Bruins vs. Canadiens 7:30 p.m. @ Bell Centre

Racially Insensitive Blog Alert

NY Jets > NY Yankees > Diarrhea > Miami Heat > Going Blind > Montreal Canadiens.

I really, really, really, REALLY hate the Habs, Quebec, Montreal, and France. Just can't stand anything that these DB's stand for. Their women don't shave their armpits or legs, their men act like women. There is nothing good that comes out of Montreal. Blah Blah Blah they have won 24 Championships. They flop at every chance, their fans cheer like 21,000 screaming little girls and when a call doesn't go their way they cry worse than 21,000 little girls. All the money in the world would not be enough to pay me to live in Montreal. I. HATE. MONTREAL! Hate me if you want to for what I have just written, but my feelings will never change.

Oh yeah, there is a game.

Coming off a resilient, hard fought OT loss to Pittsburgh at the Garden on Saturday (14 beers = no recap), the Bruins travel into enemy territory to face the HATED Montreal Canadiens in a rematch from the February 9th "Donny-Brook" that saw the Bruins take an 8-6 victory. The Bruins are 7-2-1 in their last ten and lead Montreal by 5 points in the Division. Montreal is 6-3-1 in their last ten and are on a 4 game win streak. This is a big game for the Black and Gold as they need to maintain distance between Montreal and themselves while also pushing for 1st in the Conference as they are only 2 points shy of tying Philadelphia. The Bruins need maintain physicality and keep pressure on the Montreal Defense throughout. Especially needing to keep the Hostile female crowd from affecting their play. P.K. Subban needs to catch a right hook square in the beak to let him know how the NHL feels about his antics.

Prediciton: I have no idea how this game is going to go. The Bruins suck playing in Montreal, But they have been playing Top-Notch Puck lately. Montreal has a chance regain their dignity from a month ago, but they are pussies. So I'm picking with my heart. Bruins 4 - Montreal 3.

Monday, March 7, 2011

Who's now?


A few years ago SportsCenter came out and asked the world, "Who's now?" Their attempt was to find out who the most popular/relevant/influential/important athlete in the world was. I am sure Doyle voted for Happy Gilmore, Sawyer voted for the baby from the Pampers commercial, Salah voted for Reggie Bush, Tomaino voted for me, Cooney voted for Stone Cold, Joey voted for Fabio Grosso, Joe Cro voted for himself, I voted for Leen, and Ty showed up late to the voting and his vote was never cast.

But a few years later things have changed. Doyle still loves hockey but has finally accepted that Happy isn't real. Sawyer (to my dissapointment) is no longer a baby and I'm the one that needs his diapers, Salah's in a frat, Tomaino still voted for me, Cooney changed his vote to The Rock, Joeys italian, Me and Joe Cro are no longer sworn enemies, I still voted for Leen, and Ty should be here soon.

So I ask you...who's now? Not just in sports. But who's now in this God-loving world of ours. Maybe God himself will be your vote, if your into that kinda thing. Maybe it will be Charlie Sheen or Lindsay Lohan or Diasuke or Paris Hilton or whoever the kids are into these days.

My vote? Brian "Todd" Doyle. No joke.

Doyle is hot right now. Not only did the kid quit something that had basically become synonymous with his name (no offense big man), but he did so with complete ease.

Also he's always happy. What's up with that? Who is always happy? I'm never happy. I haven't been happy since I was 16 years old. He's fuckin jolly.

And why is he so nice? Honestly. Kid's a sweetheart. I know the guy who he gave the Rock Bottom to at the Rhumbline wouldn't agree but I once saw him heal an injured animal by giving it an eskimo kiss w/ his hairy beard.

And how bout that beard...who does that?

And have you seen him dance? That kid boogies.

Now I know what your thinking? Are you just saying this because its his blog? Or because he drove you home the other night when you were pissing on yourself and punching old ladies? Nope, although i did appreciate it.

Giants may suck. Hockey may be for Gay Europeans. Miller High Life might be piss. But Doyle's now folks. Sorry Salah.

Now i want your vote.

-The Once and Future King, F.P.

Sunday, March 6, 2011

Fear of the Unknown

When going to sporting events, the people around you make the game experience. The people that go to the game with you, of course, are the main factor. But that is something that you can control. It is what you cant control, that makes the difference between a solid experience, and an experience that is less than desirable. We have all been there. We go to a game, which we spend good money on, only to have the people in front, behind, and adjacent to us ANNOY THE SHIT out of us. Sadly, there is almost nothing we can do about it, besides calling the usher and being a snitch, but that rarely happens. Here are a few examples of the types of people encountered at a sporting event......

1. The Know-it-All complainer: While at the game, somebody near your thinks that they know the ins and outs of the particular sport that you have chosen to attend. Whenever something during the game happens that this particular fan does not approve of, he is first to bitch and moan about said play....but wait, this person also tells whoever they are with what this player should have done...and most of the time they are wrong. It is most non-triumphant to have to listen to these windbags when you attend a game. If they knew what they were talking aboot it wouldn't be as bad.

2. The Drunken Ass-Hole: Ahhh...the good old drunken ass hole. Some one who has had just way to much to drink and cant censor anything he or she does. Just going about their business without a care in the world for anyone else's virgin ears or eyes. This can borderline ruin ones expereince. *Disclaimer*.... I am willing to bet, that ALL OF US have been this type of person before. I beleive I have been in this category twice in the past calendar year (just ask Salah, Sieve x2, Cooney, Jakey, and Pinkham). Hey, it happens, we cannot judge. It's a risk that everyone must be willing to take when buying tickets. If you dont want to deal with these people, buy your own luxury suite.

AND LAST BUT NOT LEAST.....

3. The Fat Guy/Person with Bad Breath: This situation applies if you don't have a seat at the end of the row, or you are sitting on the outside seats of your group. This is the worst fear of the unknown one could have going to a sporting event. You are either uncomfortably close to someone you don't know, or you cant breathe without being grossed out. DISMAL. When you go to a game and the seat next to you is empty for the duration, you feel like you have hit the lottery. *Disclaimer* The seats at sporting events are fucking TINY. 18 inches wide to be precise. You only have to be minor league overweight for these seats to present you with a problem regarding space. At professional sporting events, it is 100% normal to see 4 guys with their arms around each other so that they can fit, somewhat comfortably, in their seats.

As I look forward to attending games on March 10th, 19th, and 31st (and whatever games there after) there is always the thought in the back of my mind of whether I am going to encounter something of this nature to detract from my experience. Usually never thinking about whether I will detract from someone else's. But hey, thats the fear of the unknown.

Would you rather.








I have been thinking of some ideas to expand "Fuck you Todd." Well this idea was not mine, but my fiancée Shannon McCarthy's. I'm going to do a weekly "would you rather." If your reading the blog from Facebook you can comment there, but I encourage you to follow us here so you can comment on the page. Thanks.









Would you rather live without music or live without the internet?

Saturday, March 5, 2011

Penguins vs. Bruins 7 p.m. @ TD Garden

\

Matt Cooke needs to get his ass beat tonight. Almost one year removed from the dirty hit to the head that could conceivably end Marc Savard's career, Matt Cooke and the shorthanded Pittsburgh Penguins roll into town looking to even the season series with Boston. Pittsburgh won the last meeting between these two teams in a matinee affair at TD Garden 3-2. The Bruins are currently riding a 7 game winning streak and hold sole possession of 2nd place in the conference after their gritty victory vs. Tampa Bay on Thursday. Pittsburgh lost in Overtime to the Devils in New Jersey last night and is only 2-4-4 (8 points) in their last 10. Despite the cold streak, Pittsburgh is still holding on to 4th in the conference with 82 points.

It has been a mess for the Penguins as of late. The teams top two forwards are out. Sidney Crosby has been out since early January with a concussion. As of yesterday, he is still feeling the effects of said concussion and there is still no timetable for his return. Evgeni Malkin is out for the remainder of the season after getting major knee surgery. In both All-Stars absences, the Penguins have made trades for Alexi Kovalev, Matt Niskanen, and James Neal to fill the void.

For the Bruins, Steven Kampfer will miss up to a week with a concussion suffered when he got BUNDLED on Thursday. It was a clean hit which forced little Steven to miss the third period. A Providence Bruins defenseman will be called up on an emergency basis......Patrice Bergeron will miss tonight's game to see to a personal issue and has been permitted to leave the team. Rich Peverley was seen practicing in Bergy's place on the second line. Tyler Seguin and Dan Paille will both see ice time tonight due to the team points leader's absence.

Prediction: The Bruins are riding high, but they have to lose sometime. Flower's in the cage tonight for the Pen's after getting last night off. Coach Dan Bylsma regroups his team after last nights loss and ends the Bruins win streak. Penguins 4 - Bruins 3 (S/O) ......I hope I am wrong.

Friday, March 4, 2011

Glass Bones



Nate Robinson (knee surgery)
Marquis Daniels (bruised spine)
Semih Erden (groin and shoulder issues)
Kendrick Perkins (sprained MCL)
Luke Harangody (injured left hip in)

The Celtics last minute trade before the deadline is making more sense everyday huh? The Thunder announced that Nate Robinson underwent arthroscopic surgery on his right knee today. As posted above, all five Celtics players that were traded away at the deadline are currently injured. Now instead of those injured five Danny Ainge formed Jeff Green, Nenad Krstic, Troy Murphy, Sasha Pavlovic, and Chris Johnson. Two thumbs up Dan. The bad news is Boston still can't escape injuries. Shaquille O'Neal (inflamed right Achilles), Big Baby Davis (strained patella tendon), Jermaine O'Neal (left knee surgery), and Delonte West (sprained right ankle). That crazy right? It looks like all the new players will be thrown into the mix right away to hold the #1 seed in the Division. Good thing we have a 13 game lead. Tune in tonight as the Celtics host the Warriors in game number 60, lets see what our new players are made of.

-Zeke

Theres No Place Like Home


                                             Bruins 2 - Lightning 1

So much for the let down. The Boston Bruins won their 7th straight game and the first of this mini two game home stand as they were able to ground the Tampa Bay Lightning last night at TD Garden. Many projected a lackluster effort from the B's as the comforts of home would bring down their compete level....pessimists. After a scoreless first period (which saw numerous shots clank off the post), The Lightning and Bruins traded goals early in the second, Eric Brewer and Steven "One Happy" Kampfer notched the tallies. A few scraps and dust ups littered the remainder of the game until Milan Lucic threw a lucky bounce off the referee into a huge pile of bodies in front of the net. How the puck managed to hit the twine is beyond me, but it was good enough for a 2-1 lead.

Couple thoughts from last nights game......

Steven Kampfer was able to light the lamp for the first time in his last 17 games played. The Bruins rookie defenseman has been riding the pine of late but made the best of his opportunity filling in for injured Andrew Ference by providing the B's with the HUGE equalizer only minutes after the Lightning scored.

Rich Peverley and Chris Kelly assisted on the Kampfer goal. The forecheck that they applied prior to the goal, was the reason why the goal was scored. Kelley provided a solid shoulder check to free the puck for Peverley to pass it up the boards to Kampfer on the point. Since the acquisition of these two forwards, the forecheck has been on FIRE. The speed and grit they provide create turnovers in the offensive zone, and in last nights case, lead to goals.

In the days leading up to, and after the Tomas Kaberle trade, all I had been hearing was about how Kaberle doesn't really provide any defensive presence. From what I have seen, he has a strong net front presence. Kaberle has intercepted multiple passes in the slot breaking up numerous chances. Solid Pickup for the Bruins.

Tyler Seguin was a healthy scratch last night. Suprising? Absolutely not. Replacing the young gun with Veteran Daniel Paille was a good move. This kid is too young to be able to handle an 82 game season let alone an intense playoff atmosphere. He needs to take a break from time to time. Paille brings grit and toughness that, quite frankly, Seguin isn't able to provide.

The Bruins are playing physical, in your face hockey. Johnny Boychuk laid two hits last night that were picture perfect. Finally, in front of the net there is some physicality that will make opponents think twice about parking their ass in front of the net.

AND....The Big 'n Toasty from Dunkin Donuts is DISGUSTING.

With this win, the Bruins vault themselves into sole possession of 2nd place in the Eastern Conference with 83 points and are now only 3 points behind Philadelphia. The B's are riding a 7 game winning streak into Saturday's contest with Pittsburgh.

*****UPDATE***** Steven Kampfer, after taking a clean, but brutal, hit in the second period, suffered a mild concussion and will be out for at least 1 week.

Thursday, March 3, 2011

Lightning vs. Bruins 7 p.m. @ TD Garden


It has been too long. The Bruins FINALLY return to the TD Garden after a 6 game road trip thru Western Canada. A road trip where the Bruins won all six games, made two trades that are seemingly brilliant (so far), and vaulted themselves into a tie for second place in the Eastern Conference. Thus, giving the victor of this contest sole possession of 2nd. Both teams have 81 points thru 63 games with identical 37-19-7 records. 

There are a few areas of concern that could hurt both teams in their quest for 2 points this evening. The Bruins are coming home from 2 weeks away from home, they haven't seen their wives, children or slept in their own beds. A let down is a real possibility. The Lightning on the other hand, are playing the second game of a back to back in which they lost the first game to New Jersey last night.

No matter what the situation, this is a battle of the Eastern Conference's Elite. Both teams have zero real excuses for not bringing a solid, gritty effort tonight. Expect to see Tim Thomas in net as he only played in 2 games on the road trip, as Tuukka Rask was able to get the W in the four others.

Prediction: The Lightning are a formidable squad. If not for their loss last night in NJ, I would have pegged them for the W. But I cant see them solving a well rested Tim Thomas tonight. The Bruins get some timely goals from the first line. Bruins 4 - Lightning 2

Wednesday, March 2, 2011

The NFL Owners are a Bunch of Cock Suckers


Today, some disturbing news has broken regarding the state of the NFL and its labor negotiations. Apparently, over the past couple of years, the owners had been stockpiling money totaling in the amount of 4 Billion dollars in preparation for the lockout. This way, with the extra savings, they would have been able to cover expenses for a long-term absence of football games. And while the Owners would have been financially solvent for that period of time, the players would have lost ALL salaries and benefits provided by the league. Talk about a weasel-esque move. The players earned a small victory today when a judge ruled that this money saved by the owners cannot be used to cover expenses during the impending lockout.

Lets make one thing perfectly clear.  The NFL has seen impressive profits over the last few years and they have one of the best financial systems in professional sport. BUT, the owners feel that it is not an effective system and they chose to opt out of the current CBA (collective bargaining agreement) with the NFLPA. The players were not asking for these negotiations and the owners want to take more money from the players. In addition, the NFL wants to increase the regular season schedule to 18 games while reducing the the preseason to 2 games. Their claim for why this is necessary? To provide more value for the fans.

Pardon me for using my rather large brain, but instead of risking increased injury to your players by adding regular season games, why not lower the ticket prices of preseason games to increase the value. Its official, the owners are just a bunch or money grubbing whores, who put themselves before the players, who make them their money.

Just Because We Can, Doesn’t Mean We Should


Having a little spare time is a healthy and necessary element of humanity (and sanity for that matter.) But I’ve recently noticed that having too much down time can result in ludicrous thoughts and actions.

In my elementary days of learning the solar system, I was your typical 3rd grader, constructing subpar mobiles and making jokes about Uranus. And just like the rest of the World, I was taught that there were 9 planets. However, Pluto was recently demoted as one of these planets. Some under qualified scientist at the “Minor Planet Center” (sounds real legit) assigned the object an asteroid number, and it is now known as “134340.” So forget about Pluto, and get acquainted with the new and improved asteroid, 134340! There are now 8 planets people, not 9. Get with the program.

And if that wasn’t bad enough, I have never seen people flip the fuck out more than when the Zodiac signs changed. I don’t believe in any of that voodoo, earthy-crunchy zodiac sign stuff. In fact, the only time I ever see them is at 1 a.m. on my placemat in Dragon Light. But it goes back to the basic question of “Why?” Why fuck with something that dates back to ancient times, and has remained unchanged since? I feel bad for the person that got a Scorpion tattooed on their chest, or a Lion inked on their ass, because now it all means nothing. Yet, my ultimate remorse goes out to those who now have the ‘fresh-off-the-press’ Ophiuchus as their sign. I mean, can you even pronounce that without sounding part retarded?

You can take my planets and my Zodiac sign, but this is where I draw the line. We all grew up with one board game that symbolized our very childhood as we know it: Monopoly. There was just something about taking chances, busting out jail, and sneaking cash when no one was looking that captivated the hearts and minds of those that took part. It truly was the PERFECT game. But like most perfect things, we once again were unhappy. And because of this, if you were to go to the store and buy a brand new Monopoly game, you won’t find dice or paper money in the box anymore. Instead, there’s now a monumental red tower that sits in the center of the game, outfitted with an infrared camera and speaker box. And apparently this almighty tower has a bad case of PMS, counting money and collecting rent, ensuring players move the correct number of spaces, and issuing instructions in a chipper digital voice. Sounds just like Monopoly, right?

You may read this and say, “Coon, why do you give a shit about any of this mumbo jumbo.” But the fact of the matter is this: if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it. I was taught that Pluto was a planet, and to this day, I still consider it one. I have an original version of Monopoly, complete with paper money, and I bet it’s tit loads more fun than the one with a bossy-ass robot. Boys and girls, in spite of all of this, I guess what I’m trying to say is that just because we can, doesn’t always mean we should.

-Coon

Fire Crotch


Lindsay Lohan may end up going to jail soon, but obviously shes trying to jump on the Hollywood comeback train. According to "The Mirror", the actress has signed a $3.5 million deal to appear in an explicit photography book that will have Lohan posing for "full-frontal nudity" shots. Listen, If i'm going to pay this girl 3.5 Mill i'd expect a little more than some boobies and a "red fiery death." In my book of celebrity babes Lohan scores a 7.3, lets try and pay some 10's like Mila Kunis, or Meagan Fox to show some skin. Yes I understand that Lohan isn't the sharpest knife in the drawer, but give her some credit. She was once the biggest thing as a "teen idol", and then she went eastbound and down because of drugs and booze. Hey, I would pose nude to get back on top as well. Let me explain why i'm blogging about this. Yesterday i was sitting at work and this story came on the news, and right when the reporter said "Lohan will take nude photos" the only three guys in the bar all gave a fist pump and smiled. Pretty much made my day.

-Zeke


Tuesday, March 1, 2011

Even Felger Can't Argue with a Shutout


Bruins 1 - Senators 0

Has Tuukka Rask regained his confidence? Yes. The Boston Bruins netminder has pulled off four straight wins in four consecutive starts, including a solid shutout performance this evening in Ottawa. I would be remissed if i didn't mention that these four victories came against three of the worst teams in the league, but it really doesn't matter. Tuukka played more than solid in the four games played. Equally as important, Tuukka was able to spell Vezina favorite Tim Thomas while not sacrificing any points in the process. Timmy should be more than rested for Thursdays game vs. Tampa Bay. Nathan Horton provided the only goal of the game off a Craig Anderson rebound. The goal was made possible by Patrice Bergerons prolific puck possession in the corner keeping the play alive for a shot from the point eventually leading to the goal. A few posts and a few anxious moments at the end couldn't stop the Bruins from getting the win.

There really wasn't much to this game other than the solid 'tending from Tuukka. But a couple thoughts to ponder after the W.......

Nathan Horton is starting to wake up. With the goal tonight, he has a three game goal streak and has 11 points in his last 10 games. Having a hot Horton come playoff time, working well with fellow line mates David Krejci and Milan Lucic, will pay off in spades.

Kaberle, Kelly and Peverley have not lost since donning a Bruins jersey. Making General Manager Peter Chiarelli look like a genius.

The Bruins have not had a Six-game road winning streak since 1972. This was the last year that a Bruin has drank from the Cup. Good Omen? You decide.

When was the last time you have ever heard of an NHL game in Canada not selling out? Not Never. Just ask a Senators fan why only 16,826 (91% full) showed up to this contest. Maybe its because their Senators, only a few years removed from a Stanley Cup Finals appearance, are locked in the cellar for good after they sold off almost all their current assets.

AND... A growler full of Fisherman's Ale is delicious.

Win the win, the Bruins are only the 6th team in the NHL to eclipse the 80 point threshold with 81 points. They remain 6 points ahead of Montreal in the division with three tough, and I mean TOUGH, games in a row against playoff teams. After sweeping the longest roadie of the season, the Black and Gold head home to attempt to ground the Lightning on Thursday. 

Bruins vs. Senators 7:30 p.m. @ Scotiabank Place


Facing them for the second time on the road trip, the Bruins head into Ottawa for the final game of this six game roadie. Currently 5-0-0 on this trip away from the Garden, the Bruins look to bring out the brooms and sweep Ottawa under the rug, while building their winning streak to a season high 6 games. The Bruins hope to extend their division lead to 8 points over Montreal. Ottawa sold many of their assets at or before the trade deadline as the playoffs have fallen off the table for the club.

If I were Bruins Coach Claude Julien, it would be a no brainer to start Tuukka Rask in net again tonight. This would be effective in two ways...Keep building Tuukka's confidence as he has won three straight starts, and give Tim Thomas more quality rest as the Bruins schedule becomes a whole lot tougher after this contest with Tampa Bay, Pittsburgh and Montreal on the docket in the upcoming week.

Prediction: Again, Ottawa sucks. Although a win is not guaranteed, I am pretty confident the Bruins can take care of business. Bruins 3 - Ottawa 2