Bruins 3 - Blackhawks 0
Coming off a playoff clinching W in Philadelphia two days ago, the Bruins hit the TD Garden ice on Tuesday trying to prepare themselves for the second season. What better way to do it than play the defending Stanley Cup Champion Chicago Blackhawks? Now lets not get TOO high on this Bruins victory tonight, as the Blackhawks had to pull out all the stops only one night earlier to snag an OT win in Detroit. After a hard fought, evenly matched first period, it was evident that the Hawks were gassed. The Bruins took control with goals from Zdeno Chara (14), Johnny Boychuk (3) and Nathan Horton (24). Tim Thomas recorded shut out number 9 with 32 saves as Chicago's Corey Crawford stopped 31.
Couple thoughts from tonight's game....
Mark Recchi is my Homeboy...I want that made into a T-shirt. The guy is simply a gamer. Notching point number 1,532 last night, the 42 year old still has some gas left in his tank. He has notched 47 points this season. Guy brings new meaning to the term ageless.
Chara haters....PLEASE tell me why he is not an important asset to the team. I got all day. Mother Fucker is solid. Since the Max Pacioretty hit, Chara has played in all ten games and has 11 points (3-8-11) and a + 10 rating. Captain Z-day-no.
I am running out of one liners regarding the solid play of Tim Thomas. It must be the porn star mustache. 2 goals allowed in his last 4 starts (4 wins) bringing his GAA back under 2. Once again, Thomas came up with key stops to keep the Bruins in the lead. Great positioning combined with great scrambling ability makes him a tough goaltender to solve.
Shawn Thornton is one sick fuck. How many people do you know can take a sharpened skate blade to the beak, get up immediately, and THEN challenge the opponents bench while leaking oil. Not I. Not to mention the pugilistic 4th liner has 18 points on one of the most productive 4th lines in the league.
Nathan Horton scored his 4th goal in as many games. Can't find any reason to complain aboot his game in the past two weeks. Just working hard and getting rewarded. Horton hears a WOOOOO.
After their grueling win last night in Detroit, which saw Chicago play its top forwards for 20 minutes plus (alot of minutes), it was obvious that the Hawks just couldn't keep up. Although they had their chances, the Hawks just could not control the play as the game turned into one that had the "take care of business" feel. Which the Bruins were able to do.
Michael Ryder and Steven Kampfer are still riding the pine. Cant see any reason why they wont be picking splinters out of their behinds during the playoffs as all 4 lines as presently constituted seem to be working well. Sorry Snip, you had your chances. Kampfer is a serious rookie and has shown some inexperience of late and needs more time.
AND....Can you smell what The Rock is cooking?
With the win, the Bruins improve to 96 points while holding down the 3 seed in the East. At this point, its all about getting into a rhythm heading into the playoffs and playing consistent, two way hockey. They look for some retribution on Thursday as the Take on the Leafs at the Garden. The Doyle Brothers WILL be in attendance. Go Bruins.

No comments:
Post a Comment