Tuesday, December 27, 2011

Todd's Post Christmas Year In Review

Here it is, the biggest letdown day in the history of the world. The first workday after Christmas. The day where we still feel like shit from all the damn food we ate and beer we drank with our families celebrating the birth of Jesus Christ our lord and savior. Thank you Jesus. There are many things that I am thankful for and here are the Top Three.

Uno: Much love for my family. Always a grand time when we spend the holidays together. I've said it once and will keep saying it....spending time with my relatives is the biggest battle of wits you will ever see. Everyone is always trying to one up eachother with a smart ass comment. Laughs are abundant. Shannon, if you are interested in upping your pictionary game, my family is the major leagues of that game.

Due: Almost earned the number one slot but nothing can beat that. The Boston Bruins make me happy. It is hard to critique this team. After their dreadful 3-7 start, this team has torn apart the competition amassing a 22-2-1 record since. +56 in goal differential (20 goals ahead of the second best team in Detroit), 9,count 'em 9 players with 20 or more points. If that doesn't show that the Bruins are a deep team then I don't know what does. Top notch goal tending (Sieve needs new shorts) in Timmy and Tuukka. Fast forward to June.

Inside scoop for everything Bruins here.

Tre: Although they make me want to puke most days, I am thankful for the New York Football Giants this season. Beating The Patsies and the Jets were glorious moments. Hopefully this team will not step on their own dicks Sunday and actually make the playoffs. Big Blue is coming off one of their best games defensively in recent memory and that can be attributed to JPP.

YOU DOWN WITH JPP??????

Now, as many of you like to say, I can be a bit of a downer sometimes...I must not disappoint. Here is my biggest gripe of 2011.

Fuck The NBA and Forget ESPN. My goodness do I despise these two entities. The NBA may just be the most embarrassing sports outfit in the land. Never have I seen a sport get disrupted by bad officiating as much as this league. There is no flow to this game because of all these tick-tack calls. As an AVID hockey fan, watching basketball is worse than watching paint dry. TOO MANY WHISTLES. Strap on some elbow and knee pads, put on a helmet and drive to the bucket and take a bump like a real man. Shame on ESPN for glorifying this sport. ESPN is losing my viewership (not that they give a shit) because of their lack of diversity on their television programs. Football and Basketball gets old very quickly when it gets airtime at nauseam. Thank the lord for the new NBC Sports Network. They will have the most balanced sports coverage on TV. All things sports, not just the sports they have TV contracts with.

UPDATE: My sources tell me that ESPN has failed to recognize NHL players that died tragically this offseason during a tribute to sports figures who passed in 2011. This is sickening. Shame on ESPN.


Todd's Favorite Moment of 2011....Like you even had to guess.

Monday, December 12, 2011

Sunday Funday Indeed


 RMC Hero Todd Brunson and forward Cameron Scola pregame 

What a Sunday for Todd. The two most aggravating teams in the sports universe were on display last night and both teams, somehow, came out with big wins. Here is a breakdown of what may or may not have actually happened.

Rockport Mortgage Hockey: 36 minutes was not enough time to contain the now 4-3 RMC hacks. Clinging to a 4-2 lead late in the third, Todd Brunson was gracious enough to let Derek Discotti tip in the Penguins 3rd tally of the game. Moments later the puck somehow found its way in on a bad bounce and we were headed into sudden death overtime. I sure as hell was not trying to die last night so I found strength deep down in my heart to tip a rebound forward where Cameron Joseph Scola, who was lollygagging in the high slot, took off with blazing speed (blazing is a relative term). Unbeknownst to himself, later clarifying that he "blacked out" on the rush, he put the puck behind the goaltender and got me an overtime assist. Winner, Winner, Chicken dinner.

*****Just for the record, I was giving positive encouragement all game.....shocker*****

New York Giants Football: You cannot spell Elite without Eli. Jason Pierre Paul is a bad man. The Giants defense sucks so bad that we should enlist the help of the New England Patriots secondary...yeah its that bad. Down by 12 with 5 minutes to go? I will take Eli Manning versus any team in the league. Kid just straight knows how to get shit done. Eli may go down as having the best single season 4th quarter balls of any QB in the history of the game. Tying his brother Peyton and John Unitas for the most 4th quarter touchdowns in one season, with three games to play. Note to Tebow maniacs....Eli-te has registered more fourth quarter comebacks than ya boy Tim Tebow. Giants play their last 3 games at home (road contest vs. Jets at Metlife) and could quite possibly win the division.....but this is Giants Football, anything can happen for better or for worse. Go Big Blue.

Now pardon me as I wait until noon for the ESPN NHL Power Rankings....Possy Out.

Wednesday, December 7, 2011

Jets Players Dont Miss Atlanta Whatsoever


Jets Stifle Bruins 2-1 

I mean, maybe Dustin Byfuglien and Evander Kane miss the nice warm Atlanta weather. But for a team that had a minuscule following in the ATL sure as hell love the RABID MTS Centre in frigid Winnipeg, Manitoba. Boy can those fans get loud. Coming off a solid win in Pittsburgh, the Bruins had to play back to back nights on the road and they ran into a well rested Jets squad and a goaltender that could not be beat (minus a lucky deflection). 2-1 Jets. Thornton with the deflection goal. First game in 16 that the Bruins failed to secure a point. Good game to watch.

Sticking points from the biggest win in Jets franchise history....

Although it is a tough thing to admit, I am almost glad the Bruins lost in a tough game. Losses can build character in a long season and it was inevitable that the streak was going to end. 14-1-1 in their past 16 is just as impressive. Forget all about the streak and focus on an upstart Florida group that is getting some well deserved attention.

Tyler Seguin set his alarm clock to EST and missed a team breakfast. Sorry kid, can't show up to work late and expect to play. Boy did he look pissed in that press box. Hopefully this is a not so subtle reminder that he is indeed expected to act older than his age and he learns from it. Maybe he even seeks retribution for his gaffe and goes on a tear. Heres to hoping.

Winnipeg played a great game. Tuukka let in a couple softies but nonetheless the Jets were a stout defensive team this evening and they were blocking shots like madmen. Sticks in passing lanes disrupting the flow of the Bruins offense. Taste of our own medicine I'm afraid.

We had a ridiculous amount of chances. My goodness was it tough to bury the biscuit tonight. Hot goaltenders can steal games. Where have we learned this lesson before? Hmmmmmmmmm...... Great game by Ondrej (spelled Andre) Pavelec making key save after key save to keep the Bruins offense at bay.

Penalty Kill is looking outstanding these past two days. Opposing teams are making futile attempts to score on the man advantage as the Bruins continue to move up the PK rankings. As Jack Edwards would say "too many layers." Speaking of which, does this guy write down one liners before games wait till the right moment to use them? Settle down my man.

Later on Croutons.

Monday, December 5, 2011

Hockey Pornography?


Boston Bruins 16-7-1....First in Northeast
 
29 teams in the NHL did not fare as well as the Boston Bruins did in the 2010/2011 season. Now they are getting a reminder of said futility. MOvember treated the Bruins extremely well as the garnered 25 of a possible 26 points. Muff duster staches a plenty, the Bruins steamrolled their competition (with the exception of Detroit) vaulting them from worst to first in the Northeast Division standings. Needless to say, the Boston Bruins get myself and other B's fans excited.

Talking points from this past month of Bruins Hockey....

Chris Kelly has officially swooped in and stole my heart. Too bad you cant get his jersey. The guy is playing lights out hockey on the third line with Rich Peverley and Benoit Puliot. Leads the team with 2 shorthanded goals while on pace for 34 goals this year. He plays down and dirty defense, and is eating humble pie all day every day. What a steal this guy was.

The kid is becoming a man. Tyler Seguin is making women feel a tingle in their naughty places (probably some men too) as he as already eclipsed his point total from his entire rookie season. Kid is a stud (not a bad looking fellow either). Not only does he lead the team in points, goals and plus minus....he gets to play on a line with Patrice Bergeron and Brad Marchand as the Bruins "second line" is fast becoming one of the more dominant and prolific scoring lines in the league. I wonder how he sleeps at night knowing that in 2 years hes going to be getting paid stupid amounts of money. 10 years for $100 million sounds like a nice number.

I guess when your +34 in goal differential your top 5 leaders in plus minus would naturally lead the league in that category. As a defenseman who didn't really score many goals, Plus Minus was my go to stat to justify why I belonged on the ice (even though Sieve probably deserved some serious credit for my gaudy plus minus numbers). Anyways, Seguin, Bergeron, Chara, Kelly and Marchand complete the sweep of the leaders all being +15 or better after 24 games. Daddy like.

Where would the Bruins be without their solid goaltender combo of Timmy and Tuukka. Holy Moly are they good. I could waste time by throwing out all these stats justifying why they are the best but their play speaks for itself.

Do they need to lose? Yup, they are long overdue and it would help them immensely in terms of keeping them grounded. We want to play our best in June, not necessarily in November. But if they keep wanting to win games I guess I will just have to suck it up and enjoy it. 

Now pardon me as I sit at my computer hitting refresh on the ESPN NHL Power Rankings page waiting impatiently for what I already know will be a #1 slot. Dont try to tell me I am pathetic because I already know I am. Go Bruins!

Monday, November 28, 2011

And Boom Goes The Dynamite


 Jon Cooney's Worst Nightmare


The Past 3 weeks have been outrageous, from so many different standpoints that I haven't had the time to update everyone on life as we know it. But I will do my best to corral all the experiences that have made headlines this side of the bridge and beyond.

The Boston Bruins: 11-0-1 in their last 12. No biggy. Since Todd and Company attended the Nov. 1 contest vs. Ottawa (32 ounce High Life Drafts sure do taste good, even on a Tuesday), the Bruins have not lost a single game in regulation. 28 mother fucking days of at least garnering a point in a game. My Chris Kelly man crush is palpable. Timmy and Tuukka are stellar, per usual. The Kid, Bergy and Marchand have decided that they have no problem being one of the Best lines in the league. And yeah, the Stanley Cup DVD is just as good the 20th time as it was the 1st time. Number One in The Hood G.

Productive Alcoholism: My goodness. Growler full of the IPA on a Monday? Sure. Growler Full of IPA while writing a 1200 word paper? Why not? (Just for the record I got a 93 on that bitch, -5 for being a day late so we will call it an 88). Beers at lunch, beers at dinner, beers at hockey. Ever since that disastrous turn of events Friday of Fiesta (Damn you Captain Morgans) its been a beer drinkers wet dream at 100 East Main Street. Also, Thanksgiving Weekend should be sponsored by a Beer Company. Never in my life have I seen so much Alcohol consumed in a 5 day period.

Browns Football League: Just ask Jonathan Tyler Cooney all about it. I think he almost became a permanent fixture on the goal line during the championship game. But to his credit (after a couple minutes to make sure his organs were still intact) he stayed in the game and won a championship. Those are overrated anyways.

Rockport Mortgage Hockey: After Relying on opposing teams players to help us win 2 games, we finally got our first win as a group. 6-1 over the Elks. Your Favorite player sacraficed his ankle for this victory. Although he rarely shows up on the score sheet, Todd put on a passing clinic all night long. 75 foot breakaway pass? Easy. Too bad Scola has the worst hands on the team and he cant corral a gem. UPDATE: Anyone who shows up to the next RMC contest will earn FREE, thats right, FREE tickets for the remaining 11 games on the schedule. Because after all, its all about the fans. Did I mention how good I am?


You're welcome, Shannon.

Thursday, November 3, 2011

Guess Who Is Going to Gillette This Weekend?


Would you want to tailgate next to these characters?

Yep thats right. My family and I will be the Enemy at the Razor on Sunday as the NFC East Leading New York Football Giants will take on The AFC East Leading New England Patriots. Pretty big game whether you like it or not. Should the Pat's Defense beware of Eli-te? Yup. Should the Giants Defense beware of Gisele's Husband? Yup. Is it any coincidence that we are sitting in the handicapped seats? Maybe, Maybe not. Let's Go Big Blue!!!!!!!!

Tuesday, November 1, 2011

FACT: Verizon is better than Sprint


HAPPY TUESDAY NEW ENGLAND!

Why thank you DA, a happy Tuesday night it was. The Boston Bruins stop a three game skid with a 5-3 victory @ TD Garden. Do you think it was any coincidence that Todd & Co. were in attendance? No fucking way. Even though the Bruins were the winners on this fine Tuesday in November, they still played sloppy for a substantial part of the game. "But they scored 5 goals Todd, how could you say they didnt play well?" I will let you ask that question to the people who scream SHOOT on the power play when there is 3 guys blocking the pucks path to the net. Fucking pink hats (cough cough Tomaino and Paul sitting 5 rows from the ice) have no right to open their mouths at a game. The Bruins still have some substantial flaws that need to be rectified if the playoffs are to be on the schedule.

Time out. Short story. Coondogg decided to call in to "The D.A. Show" on 98.5 on the ride home and, after waiting for 10 minutes to get on the air, he left D.A. with nothing to listen to but a garbled transmission. Most non-triumphant. Leave it to Todd to save the day. In the wake of Coon's unfortunate dropped call on his Binky powered by Sprint, I decided that it was a good time to save the day and call up D.A. myself to express the points that Coon, Scola, Ticon and I agreed on. Lets just say, I killed it. Giving clear, confident and concise points to make the common fan rethink the state of the Bruins after their 4th win in 11 games. Sure it was a good win, but the Bruins need to battle harder and take more shots rather than try to finesse their way to victory. Long story short, My shitty ass cracked verizon keypad phone schooled D.A. and the Sports Hub nation. A Binky couldn't handle the job.

Pink Hats stay away please. Get to the game on time. Stay in your seat. Bitch and moan when there is actually something to bitch and moan about. Stay till the end of the game. Be Knowledgeable or stay home.

Todd: "See the thing is....the thing about it is that the Bruins are still wasting their time trying to make the finesse play and be cute with the puck. Shoot the Puck on net! You will get more Chances, you'll bury more biscuits, and you will win more games....Love ya D.A."

D.A.: "Be good Bri."

Radio Gold.

Monday, October 24, 2011

I Almost Lost My Pearly Whites


My ugly mug almost got alot uglier last night as RMC made its season debut. Me being such a badass, I have foregone proper safety measures to protect my face by removing the cage on my helmet. I figure that if I am playing at such a high level of hockey, the fans deserve to see my face. But my season debut almost went sour.

There I was, being a warrior in front of my own net, just clearing out any opposing players with my strength and determination. The puck found its way out to the point where an opposing player was gearing up for a slap shot just as I was turning towards. Time seemed to slow down as the shot was made and the rock hard disc of vulcanized rubber had me dead to rights. If it was not for my quick reflexes I would have been down for the count. I raised my glove towards my face and, luckily for my team, I was able to stop the puck from breaking my face. Because of my skill, I was able to stay in the game and help my team to its 4th win in franchise history.

Now there is a serious debate brewing in my mind. Cage? Or no cage? Now I don't want to have a puck rearrange my distinguishing facial features, but I don't want to disappoint the fans or show any weakness either. As RMC's fearless leader, we would be worse off than we already are.

Monday, October 10, 2011

Bury the Fucking Buscuit


Avalanche 1 - Bruins 0

Same old shit from the Bruins, just a new season. They play with A LOT more intensity when Timmy is net....for what reason I don't know. Tuukka is just as solid a goaltender but his teammates just cannot connect when he is between the pipes. The Bruins got shut out today. Yeah, Varlamov was pretty decent in net but this was 2 points that the Bruins need to pick up (yeah its about the points again). Bad bounces, bad passes, lackluster effort, matinee game....all strong arguments for why the Bruins lost today's game. Excuses aside, this is the type of game the Bruins NEED to win all year long if they want a decent shot at getting a good seed in the playoffs.

Couple thoughts from this painful matinee affair.....

I like Tuukka. He's a real solid goaltender. He does not deserve to lose to Colorado when he only gives up 1 goal. I personally think his stay at home style kept this game close. After losing his starting job to Tim Thomas at the outset of last season, having a losing record while posting solid numbers, and picking splinters out of his ass for 25 playoff games, I think the kid has had a pretty positive attitude (yeah the $28,000 ring helps a bit). But Tuukka is not deserving of getting held out to dry and this is no way to have to start a season. Two U's, Two K's, No Points. What a shame.

Was it just me or did every pass that the Bruins attempt get checked by a Colorado stick? They were clogging passing lanes like...well...pro's. Pure Aggravation.

Now I don't want to kill the Bruins too bad for this loss because it wasn't for a lack of chances. The Bruins had several REAL scoring opportunities but  the ice was soft and the puck was bouncy on this 80 degree October day. Still, the B's need to bury their chances.

Matinee games sure aren't too fond of the Bruins. I could probably count on 2 hands (using my somewhat foggy memory) the amount of matinee games that the Bruins have won over the past 5 years. For some reason or another they do not like waking up early and playing in the afternoon.

NESN play by play man Jack Edwards has to clean it up. The guy is a goober, plain and simple. Although  he has good intentions, using "Tim Thomas-esque" to describe a third period highway robbery staged by Semyon Varlamov is ENTIRELY premature. I mean yeah, the guy had the greatest single season in NHL history for a goaltender, but I for one believe that you need to put a string of good seasons together to have your name be followed by "esque" (Think Roy, Hasek, Broudeur).

Maybe I did not get the memo, but when a team is down a goal in the waning minutes of the third period why should the 4th line, woops "energy line" be out on the ice trying to tie the game. Yeah yeah yeah Soupy and Co. played great  last year and deserve a regular shift, but I really want to see the puck on Krejci's stick or Bergy's stick when it comes down to the wire. The 4th line gets paid to give the the other lines rest and score the occasional goal, just not when the team needs its real scorers on the ice.

Nathan Horton seems timid. Rightly so. In watching him battle for the puck he just isn't getting dirty enough. In Saturdays game with Tampa (solid w for sure, was just too hungover to write up my reaction) Horty was seen crossing the blue line in the exact same spot as the "incident" that occurred last season in Game 3 of the Finals, and boy did he know it, he pulled up short after hearing imaginary footsteps. I'll give him a pass for now, but we need production out of this boy and we needed it today for sure.

Next up is the Carolina Hurricanes on Wednesday at RBC Center. The Bruins cant afford to spot Division Favorite Buffalo an early season cushion when we have not played a divisional game yet. I would rather not have to listen to "The Hangover" talk in the early stages of the '11-'12 campaign.

AND...... Finding two day old dip spit in a beer bottle while cleaning up the house is fucking disgusting, no matter who's mouth it came out of.

Be Excellent to Each other and Go Bruins!

Thursday, October 6, 2011

Bruins Falter on Banner Night


Flyers 2 - Bruins 1

The much anticipated raising of the banner, awesome as it was, would have been sweeter if the Bruins were able to Pull out a victory. The Flyers erased an early 1-0 deficit with two quick goals in the final minute of the first period and were able to hang on to win the first game of the season. Brad Marchand scored the lone goal for the Bruins on the first power play of the season. The Bruins had abundant chances but were not able to capitalize as the new Flyers goaltender Ilya Bryzgalov turned 22 of 23 shots aside. Tim Thomas looked no worse for ware playing his aggressive style and turning away 27 of 29.

Couple thoughts on Opening Night in the Bean....

You can give me all the cliche's you want. Its a marathon, not a sprint...Its the first game of many...you dont win the cup in October...blah blah blah. Shut Up Please. The Bruins lost tonight. Minus the first ten minutes, They were not the better team. Philly brought the play to the the Bruins while limiting their opportunities.

While I would not put this loss in the  "Stanley Cup Hangover" category, the Bruins definitely made some mental mistakes and could not get out of their own way at times. I guess watching them ball out in the Playoffs all the way to the Cup will raise the expectations on this season a little.

I will go out on a limb and say that Philadelphia does not miss Brian Boucher.

Brad Marchand was the best Bruin on the ice tonight. Marshmont is out to prove that there is no such thing as a sophomore slump. Scoring a goal, having numerous chances throughout the game is a good start to the season for the pesky forward.

Tyler Seguin looked good. Sweet cross ice pass to Marchand for the only goal of the game. Big minutes and Big production for the kid this year. 

AND... I'm not too sure my professor was excited to see me walk out in the middle of class after I finished my presentation. SAHHHHRY North Shore.

Christmas Comes Early - Flyers vs. Bruins, 7pm @ TD Garden


There are 3 Big, Important days in my life. Birthday, Christmas, and Opening Day. This is it. Game One of the Title defense. What better and opponent (maybe besides Montreal or Vancouver) to start the season against than the Philadelphia Flyers. The Bruins better be ready. I have a feeling the Flyers are looking for retribution for an embarressing performance vs. an Easter Conference Adversary in the Semi's. We better not get caught up in Lala Land when that banner will be raised for all eternity or we will be in for it. 

P.S. I still don't get to watch this game live. Night Class - 1 Todd - 0.

Prediction: This is going to be a dog fight. Each team will earn a point tonight with the Bruins winning Overtime. Bruins 3 - Flyers 2 O/T.
 

Tuesday, October 4, 2011

ESPN's Power Rankings Reaction



Every Monday and Tuesday, ESPN releases their NHL and NFL Power Rankings, respectively. Todd may agree or Todd may disagree with the pundits on their decisions (Yes I will even Discuss the Patsies)

NHL Preseason Power Rankings

There was a definite slight to the Bruins in this weeks edition, even though they were given this weeks Number 1 slot, in hinting that they are not worthy of the distinction. The Defending Stanley Cup Champions should be given the benefit of the doubt until proved otherwise. With their first two games against Philly and Tampa looking for retribution, bet the house that they will fall a few spots by Week 2.

NFL Power Rankings Week 5

The New York Football Giants have consistently made a push up the rankings with three straight victories (while only playing good football half of the time) Eli Manning is (for now at least) pacing this Giants offense while the running game is, to be fair, dormant. A brilliant victory vs. Philly and a frantic comeback vs. a very beatable Arizona team has looked good on this team in the early going. Look for Big Blue to jump up 1 spot with a convincing victory over Seattle. It should be mentioned that the G-Men will be running the gauntlet in the second half of the season having to play most of their schedule vs. the AFC and NFC East.

The New England Patriots command so much respect that they do not get dropped even after a dreadful loss to Buffalo. Even though an argument can be made that they should hold the number 2 slot, I agree with ESPN in airing on the side of caution with the number 3 spot. They have played 1 playoff caliber team so far (Buffalo will cool off and Oakland needs another year). If the Patriots can handle the Jets and put the questions aside about their "Bend often and sometimes break" defense they will be given the number 2 spot as Green Bay is untouchable.

Monday, October 3, 2011

Defending Lord Stanley's Cup Bruins Season Preview


Ah, here we are, the beginning of the 2011-2012 NHL season is upon us. And for the first time in 39 years, your Boston Bruins are the Defending Stanley Cup Champions (keep pinching me). As you all know, I am a little over zealous when it comes to the Black and Gold (i.e. the unattractive mountain man beard) but that is just the way I like it. I watched the Bruins Championship DVD more times than Cooney asked to cut in on a Cigarette. But all that aside, we have a Championship title to defend. So without further ado, here is how the 2011-2012 Bruins shape up.

The Bruins are returning 17 members of the Cup winning squad (miraculous job by GM Peter Chiarelli) after losing only 2 key Contributors in Michael "Snip" Ryder and the ageless wonder Mark Recchi. Losing leadership in Rex will hurt this squad but we do have 17 Stanley Cup Champs on this roster so I'm not sweating any more than I already do. Snip is a dog during the regular season but when he has something to play for he is real nice. Kaberle, you sucked royally and we will not miss you. 

Filling in for Rex will be youngblood Tyler Seguin, who missed time last year because of a lack of experience. He had flashes of brilliance followed by extended slumps. Having a full time roll will help him in his progression and the Stanley Cup Championship will help his mental game as well. Newcomer Benoit Puliot just needs to give us Snips regular season numbers to not be a bust and Defensmen Joe Corvo just needs to show up to the rink to be an upgrade over Kaberle.

Goaltender Tim Thomas came off the most historic year for any 'tender in NHL history by virtue of his Trophy Trifecta (Vezina, Conn Smythe, and Stanley). But can we expect him to continue his lights out performances into this season? Don't bet on it. Timmy is getting old and well qualified back up Tuukka Rask will bring back the slogan "Two U's, Two K's, Two Points" as he will be called upon to lighten Timmy's load throughout the regular season if there is any chance for Tim to have a solid playoff run. Long story short, we don't have any problems in the crease. 

Coupled with strong goaltending, The blue liners for this squad will make the Bruins GAA stay in the top 5 this season. Zdeno Chara, Andrew Ference, Joe Corvo, and the German Missile will pace the D-men on this team with Quaider and Johnny Boychuck needing to step up and play solid defense all season. Again, barring injury, the Bruins defensive zone play will be solid this season.

Offensively, the Bruins need to worry about consistent production. After a season with only 2 60 point players (Krejci and Lucic) there is still room for improvement. The Power Play needs to have markedly increased production, Marchand needs to avoid the sophomore slump, the 4th line needs to continue their solid, tone setting play all season, and consistent play making from the top 2 lines on this team should set the Bruins comfortably atop the standings in the Northeast Divison.

All in all, on paper, this Bruins team should be up there in the discussion for Title Contenders. They will need to avoid the Stanley Cup Champion hangover as it is gonna take some serious effort night in and night out as everyone will want to best the defending champs. Todd, per usual, will be emptying his wallet for this team as he expects to attend 5-10 games this season (RESERVE YOUR SPOT NOW!). 

THE "WAY TOO EARLY TO BE MAKING A PREDICTION" PREDICTION
With a 108 point regular season, the Champs are a shoe-in for the playoffs. The Northeast Division Champs, after knocking out 3 worthy opponents, will find themselves back in the finals. Thats as far as the crystal ball goes boys and girls.


Wednesday, September 21, 2011

Todd just made a Scientific Discovery

 

FACT: Copious amounts of Marijuana makes you unhealthy, tired, and lazy.


Let me tell you a little story. It has been 21 days of long, arduous hours of dedicated research (subconscious as it were) and just today while on the treadmill (walking/running I was still on the mother fucker) I made this scientific breakthrough. Now you might be saying, "Todd you relapsed this past weekend!" (blame the margarita for those 4 puffs) and I would say "Why yes I did, and I'm glad!" 

It has become apparent to me, in these past 3 weeks, that I have too much energy and I cannot be lazy without going crazy. I am actually going to the gym without Mama Brunson (my mother) nagging me. 1-0 Todd. I am staying on the treadmill for 1+ hours per workout. 2-0 Todd. And I am finally coming to realize that a blunt a day makes my fat rolls stay. Game. Set. Match. 

Be Excellent To Each Other....and Go Bruins!

Friday, September 16, 2011

Inagural Pigskin Pick'em


This is a test of my brains. After this week you can either call me an asshole or clairvoyant. Picks vs. the spread and outright winners. (Outright Winner/ Spread Winner/ Both)
    Date                               Favorite                                      Underdog      
9/18 1:00 ET At New Orleans -6.5 Chicago
9/18 1:00 ET At Detroit -8 Kansas City
9/18 1:00 ET At NY Jets -9 Jacksonville
9/18 1:00 ET At Buffalo -3 Oakland
9/18 1:00 ET At Washington -3.5 Arizona
9/18 1:00 ET Baltimore -6 At Tennessee
9/18 1:00 ET At Pittsburgh -14 Seattle
9/18 1:00 ET Green Bay -10 At Carolina
9/18 1:00 ET At Minnesota -3 Tampa Bay
9/18 1:00 ET Cleveland -2 At Indianapolis
9/18 4:05 ET Dallas -3 At San Francisco
9/18 4:15 ET Houston -3 At Miami
9/18 4:15 ET At New England -6.5 San Diego
9/18 4:15 ET At Denver -3.5 Cincinnati
9/18 8:25 ET Philadelphia -2.5 At Atlanta
Monday Night Football Line





9/19 8:35 ET At NY Giants -6 St. Louis

Thursday, September 15, 2011

Neil Diamond is Responsible for the Pussification of Red Sox Nation


Gag me with a spoon.

(Note: Credit for the original Idea will go to the Felger and Mazz Radio Program on 98.5....Sorry Pinkham)
 For Your Listening Pleasure

Sieve if you are reading this please don't hate me.

I was listening to the aforementioned radio program and, I have to say, they were completely right. The Red Sox were losing last night in the eighth inning and had just blown a lead, but as if the game did not matter, the "Fenway Faithful" sang Sweet Caroline like the Red Sox were winning. What ever happened to the days of being pissed when your team loses. I go to Professional Sports games to see these teams win. If they are losing, I am not having a good time. Fuck the Experience. Im not paying top dollar in the league for a good fan experience. I am paying top dollar to see this 180 million dollar payroll win games. The Death of Red Sox nation is personified in the "Ask a Pinkhat" segment of the Toucher and Rich radio program. People who don't know their ass from their elbow when it comes to baseball but they sure as hell can sing the shit out of Sweet Caroline. What ever happened to the days of hating to love this team. What happened to living and dying with every moment. Pink Hats happened. I have attended multiple Red Sox games every single season since  I knew how to throw a baseball. How many games have I gone to this year? Zero, Zilch, Zip, NADA. Unless a set of free tickets come my way, I wont be visiting the Friendly Confines this season. This may seem to be blasphemy personified, but how far from the truth is it? Don't get me wrong, I still love the Red Sox. But the sideshow has begun to take its toll. You wont see me singing Sweet Caroline at Fenway unless I am with a hot girl and singing that song would increase my luck.


Wednesday, September 14, 2011

Thursday, September 8, 2011

My Life Is Over.


October 6th......for the past 3 months was the day that I was most looking forward too in my retarded, potentially obnoxious, over-zealous Boston Bruins Fan hood. Today, I feel like the child that got coal in his stocking for Christmas. I feel like a Vancouver Canucks fan circa June 15th at or around 10 pm. I feel like my Black and Gold Heart has been ripped out of my chest. Why? You ask. Today, the first day of my 7 pm, 3 hour marketing class at NSCC (which I had planned on skipping for banner night), we were assigned projects and our presentation due dates were assigned. What day did I not want to receive as my presentation date? October 6. What day do I have to present my case study? October 6th. The one day that I would watch the most important championship banner being raised to the Garden rafters for all eternity, I have to be in class. My life (temporarily) is ruined. Hopefully I don't lose points for having eyes as red as the devils dick because self medication is, and will be, the only remedy for this disastrous turn of events.

Tuesday, September 6, 2011

Who is YOUR Favorite Bruin?


The Timeless question. Who is your Favorite Bruin? You think this would be an easy question to answer. You would be wrong. Since the departure of Centre Marc Savard from the active roster, I have been left with no choice but to test the market for a new Bruins sweater. But I have a serious problem, It is brutally hard for myself to come up with a solid top-5 list of my favorite Bruins without leaving someone,errr maybe the rest of the team out. In no particular order (because it is already hard enough to choose 5) Here goes nothing.

Andrew Ference


Can you say baller? Not only does this guy score 4 big goals from the blue line in this postseason, notably this goal against Montreal when the team was on the ropes in the first round, but he has the balls to do what every Bruins fan would love to do. Flip off the Canadiens faithful on National TV. You know you have done something brilliant when a shirt is made in your honor. In watching the Stanley Cup Championship DVD, there were a few instances where Mr. Ference had no problem calling out those euro trash Canucks (Sedin Sisters and Lapierre) for their less than honorable style of play. This guy can play on my Industrial League team any time he wants to. 

Dennis Sidenberg


This guy may not have lit the lamp more than once this postseason....but make no mistake, Dennis Sidenberg is one of the reasons why this Bruins defense was so dominant. The guy just does not stop. He was second to only Zdeno Chara on the team for average time on ice by only 1 second. Physical Specimen. It is every defenseman's dream to play at the level the German Missile did. Tony Massarotti loves this guy so much that, if he were a woman, he would bear Sides' unborn child. Defensive prowess infront of the net, poise with the puck, and the ability to play the body....makes me wet just thinking about it. No Homo, of course.

Patrice Bergeron


The EPITOME of style and grace. The assistant captain scored the GWG of Game 7 in the Cup Finals (while adding a second in the 2nd period)....tent de pantelone. Amassing 20 points in 23 games with a +15 rating, all the while he suffered the 3rd concussion of his career vs. Philly (sidenote... we crushed Philly). If you aint got respect for the 26 year old from Ancienne-Lorette, Quebec, you are no fan of mine. Scoring big goals at THE biggest times for this team all season. This guy is a true leader and I love him.

Zdeno Chara


They say Chuck Norris' tears cure cancer...I'm sorry to disappoint you Chuck, but Big Z's tears give eternal life....too bad he never cries. Warrior. Barbarian. You name it, the Bruins Captain will one up it. The tallest player to ever play the game, amid a "Criminal Investigation" led his team to the Stanley Cup. His beard makes my beard look like a prepubecent growth of peach fuzz. Remember throughout this past season everyone questioned his leadership and abilities? That prompted the whole Fuck You Todd idea. My very first post (primitive as it was) Zdeno Chara vs. "The Cone" came to the defense of our fearless leader. Well I have no problem saying I told you so. He led the team in +/- with 16 and ATOI with 27:39 in the post season. I will follow this man into battle any day of the week. Fuck the haters and Fuck the Montreal Police.

Tim Thomas


Vezina Trophy Winner. Conn Smythe Trophy Winner. Stanley Cup Champion. There is nothing else that needs to be said. Well maybe "TIM THOMAS IS YOUR DADDY!"

Well, after compiling my top 5, I wish I could have done a top ten, but that defeats the purpose. I am no closer to choosing a candidate for my new sweater, as all five are worthy candidates. I just cant wait for October 6th. 30 days from now our Bruins will begin their quest to defend the greatest trophy in sports (not even a debate) and I get to resume an activity that I will have given up for over a month.

P.S. My Sincerest apologies to Milan Lucic, Brad Marchand, Rich Peverly, Mark Recchi, Nathan Horton and David Krejci. You all are still ballers in my book.

Monday, September 5, 2011

Todd makes his TRIUMPHANT Return.



Well, It has been over 3 months since I last made a post on here, and with the proposal from Coon, I think it is time to get Fuck You Todd back up and running. Here are a few things that have happened since I last checked in.

If you haven't looked at my facebook wall since June 15th, you will be surprised to know that The Boston Bruins are Defending Stanley Cup Champions, 2 thrilling months of heart stopping action that ultimately culminated in us being severely fucked up in the streets of Boston for the Stanley Cup Parade. Did I mention how fucked up we were?


Summer came and went. The Mothership connected well over 30 times as Enos Marine had to deal with our cast of characters time in and time out. Water Tubes off Niles, Cruises down the River Jamming to Northshore 104.9 and one dislocated shoulder later, I'd say we got our monies worth. I will also mention that we were probably not sober there either.

Erica, Fonzie and DJ Lopic didn't help in our quest for sobriety (not that we were looking for it) as they threw two sweet ass booze cruises on the extra clean waters of Gloucester Harbor. A fat man gave us the goat, I think every male peed off the side or back of the boat and I think Dave is still looking for some of his belongings. AA couldn't help us after those two nights.

Thousand Acres Family Campground is rethinking (again) their affiliation with us. Drinking at 8 am is always acceptable, unless we didn't get that memo.

On more than one occasion....2 rolling rock kegs did not wet our appetite. (Thank You to the McCarthy and Larocca families for their Hospitality.)

It is now time for fall, and a few of us are still going to school (whether your working on your masters or bachelors, or associates....) It was a good summer that was. GHB, Wingaersheek, The Mothership,Those AA friendly booze cruises, and Double/Triple keggers will be back on the horizon before you know it. Although rumor has it Cooney Palooza is still a belated summer possibility.

Cheers to hangovers, empty wallets and low account balances. Go Sox, Go Bruins and Go Giants.



Tuesday, April 26, 2011

The "Todd got really lazy" Boston Sports Update.


Boston wins 8 of 9
Red Sox 10-11.....Third in AL East

Holy Gazongas! After their dreadful 2-10 start, the Red Sox have turned their early season woes around and are one of the hottest teams in the MLB. After taking 3 of 4 from Toronto, splitting with Oakland, and Sweeping a 4 game set in Anaheim, it seems the Sox are set for their long arduous season ahead. Just think of it as an extended spring training. The Starting Rotation needed a few extra starts to get going and now own a sub-1.00 ERA in their past eight outings. Carl Crawford is no longer wetting the bed, Jed Lowrie is batting .431 as expected, Adrian Gonzalez is our best hitter (the one HR kinda sucks) coming up with clutch AB after clutch AB, and there is an all around good feeling about this team heading into Baltimore tonight.

Celtics Sweep Knicks
All Signs Point to South Beach

After a couple eyebrow raising wins at home, the Celtics trotted into the "Real Garden" and ripped out the heart and soul of the Knicks. Paul was Paul. Ray was Ray. KG was KG, and Rondo was Rondo (in games 3 and 4). It would seem that the Celtics are ready for another deep run. Not so fast. In all fairness, the Knicks are terrible. Shoulda been blown out each and every game. But when the Big 4 was not on the court, it seemed any lead that the Celtics had was in jeopardy. Jeff, Nenad, Delonte, and Baby need to step it up big time if there is any hope of getting out of the Eastern Conference. Jermaine O'Neal was dece and the other O'Neal should hang 'em up because the Shaq soap opera is getting old.


Horton Hears a WOO!
Bruins Lead Series 3-2

Now this, folks, is what I'm talking about. The Boston Bruins, who played like dog shit the first two games of this series, showed that they indeed have balls, and that they can actually win games in Montreal (prior to game three it was like a year without a W at Centre Bell). Snip Ryder was, well, the Snip that we all know and love after he won game 4 in OT. Todd and Snip have 1 thing in common, besides the fact that we both snipe, we are a tad lazy when we don't need our A game.  Then Snip saved the day, literally, in game 5. Bailing out TIMMY in the first period with a glove save infront of an empty net. Todd and Garg had a beautiful yet nerve-racking view of the Garden ice from Section 311 (I love you Norm) during the first 89 minutes of play. Until, Nathan Horton BURIED home the Double-OT GWG right in front of the Montreal Netminder. Best Hockey game that I have ever attended and I have witnessed a few gems in my day. That thrilling victory at the Fleet sets up a HUGE game 6 back up in MTL. It would be nice not to have to have a game 7. And Just for the record, Andrew Ference is, and forever will be, and OG of Boston Bruins Hockey.

                     

Thats Right Montreal, FUCK YOU and your Car Flag having, 911 calling, 11 year old pouting fanbase of yours. GO BRUINS!

Tuesday, April 12, 2011

NHL Eastern Conference Quarterfinals....Bruins vs. Habs


Well, Well, Well. After 6 games of serious contempt, police investigations, goalie fights, a 3-5 shorthanded goal, and Montreal fans calling 911, The Boston Bruins and The Montreal Canadiens decided they wanted to play between 4 and 7 more games in the first round of the Stanley Cup Playoffs. Here is how it all breaks down....


Offense: The Bruins were 5th in the NHL in goals per with 2.98. However, the Bruins did not have one player with 70 or more points. In fact, the B's had 10 players with 40 or more points. A balanced scoring attack at the very least. The Canadiens were 21st in the league with 2.60 goals per. Not only did they not have a 60 point player, they only had 5 players with 40+.  Advantage: Bruins

Defense: The Bruins were second in the League in goals against with 2.30. Big tough boys man this blue line. Chara and McQuaid had +30 or better ratings. The Bruins will be able the bang the Canadiens down low in the defensive zone making for a long series for the Habs forwards. The Canadiens were 8th in league with 2.51 goals against per. A lot of injuries, and that bitch PK Subban taking dives and just being a bitch (he's good offensively, though). They can definitely be outworked by our forwards but we need to put the effort in. Advantage: Bruins

Goaltending: So basically, the Boston Bruins have had the best goal tending in the league the past three years and have not made it past the second round. So goal tending is not everything. Tim Thomas is nasty, no question. Vezina favorite. Carey Price is either really really good, or really really bad. Advantage: Wash

Special Teams: The Bruins are a second tier special teams squad. 20th ranked PP and a 16 ranked PK. While Montreal has a top ranked PP and a decent PK. The Bruins better be careful and stay out of the box against these flopping fairies or we could be in for a long series. Advantage: Habs

Prediction: Bruins have the home ice advantage. They are TOO good to be knocked out in the first round. Bruins in 7.

Monday, April 11, 2011

The Best 2-7 Team Ever?

"Coach Said the play was so neat-o, He gave me a candy bah!"

Red Sox Win Series 2-1
Boston 2-7....4th Place AL East
The Red Sox won their first series of the season. Score. It wasn't always pretty. You didn't think they were actually going to do it. But they did. And thank god for that. 2-7 sounds way better than 1-8 (or an unthinkable 0-9). Yes 3-6 would have been orgasmic but hey, that was unrealistic. As bad as their record is, the Red Sox have 153 games to make up 4 games in the division. So 2-7 really isn't that bad...especially if it was the wake up call we all needed. 

There were some serious positives to take out of this series. First of which, they actually won a game. They got the monkey off their back and can focus on the rest of the season. Second, LASER SHOW, RELAX. Dustin Pedroia is a true leader. Little Dusty had 9 hits and 5 RBI's and patrolled 2nd base like it was his own front yard. Third, Big Bad Joshua returned for an 8 inning GEM limiting the Yanks to 2 hits and 0 runs. If this is the Joshua that we can expect to see, consider me excited. Finally, the three closers looked phenomenal on Friday and Papelbon has mowed down every batter he has faced.

Amidst all the positives of winning a series vs. New York. The Sox left a small village on base throughout the series. Lackey Blows. Clay needs to start earning his fancy new deal while Carl Crawford and Jacoby Ellsbury couldn't get on base in a T-ball game. Still far from acceptable as The Rays come to town minus one "Idiot" as Manny Ramirez decided to retire because he failed drug school. The Rays are awful right now. Sub .200 team average. The road back to a .500 average begins now.

Thursday, April 7, 2011

No One Can Stop Us Now!


Cleveland Sweeps Series 3-0
Red Sox 0-6..... Dead Last in the League

Good, Great, Grand, Awesome, Amazing, Hunky Dorey, Peachy-Keane, Outstanding! Not one of those words have been used to describe the performance of the 0-6 Boston Red Sox. Getting Swept by the 2010 AL Champion Texas Rangers is one thing. But getting swept by, potentially, the worst team in the league in the Cleveland Indians leaves me scratching my Size-8 domepiece.

There is nothing to say really. The offense was NO WHERE TO BE FOUND. No clutch hitting, barely a dozen hits in the series. They made Fausto Carmona look like a god. Beckett - FAIL. Diasuke - FAIL. The only bright spots of the entire series were the ACE performance of John Lester and Adrian Gonzales' home run. Other than that, turrible performance.

Next up on the docket, the home opening series against the "Underdog" New York Yankees. Dont look now but if the Sox don't get it together, they could be looking at a potential 0-9 start (optimists think 1-9). Lackey, Clay, and Beckett to start and try to avoid a serious nightmare.

Monday, April 4, 2011

Off and Running......


Texas wins series 3-0
Red Sox 0-3...5th Place in east

Holy Gazongas! Terrible way to start the season, boys. The Boston Red Sox fell flat on their collective face this weekend. As all the hoopla concerning the "2011 World Series Champion" Boston Red Sox's powerful roster, Almost everyone wrote off the pre-season struggles because no one believes that Spring Training games have any meaning. Well, the Red Sox starting rotation looked just as bad this weekend as they did in spring training. Meatballs. The Rangers hit 11, yes, 11 home runs. Straight drubbing. Lester, Lackey and Clay (Clay not as much) looked like they needed a few more starts to get where they need to be. Cant be having breaking balls hang in the sweet spot going a modest 79 mph. The Offense, was decent. Crawford and Salty need to settle down at the plate. Adrian Gonzalez and Big Papi look primed for solid seasons. Over all the pitching got the award for blowing the opening series.

Up next the Sox head to Cleveland to try and right the ship. Cleveland is set for a sub .500 season. Yes, its April, but we still do need to be winning games. This is a good opportunity to get back to the basics.

Wednesday, March 30, 2011

Tuesday, March 29, 2011

Aint Nothin' But A G Thing



 Bruins 3 - Blackhawks 0

Coming off a playoff clinching W in Philadelphia two days ago, the Bruins hit the TD Garden ice on Tuesday trying to prepare themselves for the second season. What better way to do it than play the defending Stanley Cup Champion Chicago Blackhawks? Now lets not get TOO high on this Bruins victory tonight, as the Blackhawks had to pull out all the stops only one night earlier to snag an OT win in Detroit. After a hard fought, evenly matched first period, it was evident that the Hawks were gassed. The Bruins took control with goals from Zdeno Chara (14), Johnny Boychuk (3) and Nathan Horton (24). Tim Thomas recorded shut out number 9 with 32 saves as Chicago's Corey Crawford stopped 31.

Couple thoughts from tonight's game....

Mark Recchi is my Homeboy...I want that made into a T-shirt. The guy is simply a gamer. Notching point number 1,532 last night, the 42 year old still has some gas left in his tank. He has notched 47 points this season. Guy brings new meaning to the term ageless.

Chara haters....PLEASE tell me why he is not an important asset to the team. I got all day. Mother Fucker is solid. Since the Max Pacioretty hit, Chara has played in all ten games and has 11 points (3-8-11) and a + 10 rating. Captain Z-day-no.

I am running out of one liners regarding the solid play of Tim Thomas. It must be the porn star mustache. 2 goals allowed in his last 4 starts (4 wins) bringing his GAA back under 2. Once again, Thomas came up with key stops to keep the Bruins in the lead. Great positioning combined with great scrambling ability makes him a tough goaltender to solve.

Shawn Thornton is one sick fuck. How many people do you know can take a sharpened skate blade to the beak, get up immediately, and THEN challenge the opponents bench while leaking oil. Not I. Not to mention the pugilistic 4th liner has 18 points on one of the most productive 4th lines in the league.

Nathan Horton scored his 4th goal in as many games. Can't find any reason to complain aboot his game in the past two weeks. Just working hard and getting rewarded. Horton hears a WOOOOO.

After their grueling win last night in Detroit, which saw Chicago play its top forwards for 20 minutes plus (alot of minutes), it was obvious that the Hawks just couldn't keep up. Although they had their chances, the Hawks just could not control the play as the game turned into one that had the "take care of business" feel. Which the Bruins were able to do. 

Michael Ryder and Steven Kampfer are still riding the pine. Cant see any reason why they wont be picking splinters out of their behinds during the playoffs as all 4 lines as presently constituted seem to be working well. Sorry Snip, you had your chances. Kampfer is a serious rookie and has shown some inexperience of late and needs more time.

AND....Can you smell what The Rock is cooking?

With the win, the Bruins improve to 96 points while holding down the 3 seed in the East. At this point, its all about getting into a rhythm heading into the playoffs and playing consistent, two way hockey. They look for some retribution on Thursday as the Take on the Leafs at the Garden. The Doyle Brothers WILL be in attendance. Go Bruins.

Monday, March 28, 2011

The 2011 Season Starts Friday!?!?!?!?!



Holy Hell. I need to buy a new hat before Friday because it marks the beginning of another long arduous journey that we call the MLB regular season. If you lived under a rock this off season, you missed out on the fact that the Sox spent 1 Trillion dollars on new acquisitions that should bring them back to the promise land.......

Starting 9:

Carl Crawford, stud. Dustin Pedrioa, stud. Kevin Youkilis, stud. Adrian Gonzalez, Stud. David Ortiz, former/current stud.  JD Drew, dece.  Jarrod Saltalamacchia, good backstop. Jacoby Ellsbury, Studly....having a great spring. And Marco Scutaro, key role player.

I think every single team in the league, minus maybe 1 or 2 teams, would take this line up any day...If they could afford it. I knew there was a reason why tickets cost so damn much. No Joke people, the Sox offense will be potent this season. Chalk it up to the AL leading offense, in my opinion. But hitting homers, stealing bases, and just being a well oiled offensive machine is not the concern for this team. That would have to be the guys who dont take batting practice who have me worried.

Starting Rotation

Jon Lester .....Stud. Clay Buchholz....Stud. John Lackey....Solid. Josh Beckett..... wait and see. And Diasuke.....Who the hell knows. Bullpen....anything is better than last year.

This spring, Our pitching has been a real concern. Just getting lit up left and right. Beckett needs to figure it out or he will be making the easiest 60 million in the history. There have been a few solid spring starts...but not enough to get excited over. I guess we shall see what happens.

The Sox are gonna lose some games. Fact. But they are gonna win alot of games too. Some people think over 100 but I would not be in that category. That is a hard sell in this division. I do believe we will snag the division. But predicting anything after that is nonsensical. Go Sox.

Sunday, March 27, 2011

Game Changer

  Bruins 2 - Flyers 1

Fuckin' A, Bruins, Fuckin' A. Playing the Conference leading Philadelphia Flyers on the second night of a back to back, The B's brought their lunch pails to work tonight at ground out a solid victory. The Bruins got power play goals from Nathan Horton (23) and Brad Marchand (20). Kris Versteeg scored the opening goal of the game giving the Flyers the early lead. The Bruins played great hockey there after and clinched a playoff spot with the two points. Tim Thomas stopped 27 with Brian Boucher saving 34.

Couple thoughts from tonight's game..,...

Did you say...umm...Power Play? The much maligned power play provided all of the Bruins offense at critical times in the game. The Bruins capitalized on juicy rebounds with poise and great stick-handling in front of the net. Seguin brings energy to that second unit and it would be the right time for the PP to be a weapon for the B's rolling into the playoffs.

OG Tim Thomas has been rock solid. Only allowing 2 goals in his last three games has been a welcome sight after a "lull" in his game since the All Star Break. Timely saves, many point blank, tonight, kept the Bruins in the game and gave them confidence.

Brad Marchand score his 20th goal of the season. It has been 13 games since last goal but this was a big one. Scrapping in front of the net for a game winning garbage goal (with Boucher, that happens.) Nice to see him break the slump and hopefully he can get right for the stretch run.

Nathan Horton has really found his game. Three goals in three games has Horton pacing the top line. Great dangle for the goal tonight at the top of the crease for the tying tally. Paired with Krejci and Lucic, the trio has been a top producer for the 5th best offense in the league.

Michael Ryder is in the Chateau bow wow. Scratched from the line up for the second time this season, it is apparent Coach Claude Julien is sending the message to the winger to bring his game each and every night. When Paille and Seguin are both playing, someone is either injured or in the Dog House. Unfortunately for Snip, hes not injured.

Side note: Montreal has not scored in over 185:05. After scoring 8 goals in Minnesota 3 games ago, The Habs couldn't hit water if they fell out of a boat. Ouch.

AND....Obama fucked up his bracket.

With the Win, the Black and Gold clinch a playoff spot. Holding securely to the North East Division lead over Montreal at 7 points with 1 in hand. Its looking more and more like the Bruins have likely found themselves entrenched in the third position in the Conference. Good Win.

Friday, March 25, 2011

Somebody call 911.......


.....The Habs got murdered last night. Words cannot describe the performance put on by the B's tonight. Complete and Total DOMINATION. In what was billed as the most important game of the season with the Habs looked to win one for "Patches" (Max Pacioretty) after he got bundled by Zdeno Chara, the Bruins brought their A game. Goals by Nathan Horton (21,22) Gregory Campbell (11,12) Thomas Kaberle (4) Adam McQuaid (3) and Johnny Boychuk (2) paced the Bruins to the shutout victory.

Couple (8) Thoughts about last nights drubbing.....

The TD Garden was bumping last night. There were not many moments last night where the fans did not have reason to cheer. It didn't matter if you were sitting in the best seat, or the worst seat in the house.....all that matters was you were in the building.

During the second period, the Habs tried their darndest to get back in the game. The Bruins were on their heels for a few minutes (only a few) and that prompted Coach Claude Julien to call a time out. Solid coaching. After said timeout, the Bruins did not allow a shot for the rest of the period.

Tim Thomas, although not having a lot of work during the game, was rock solid. Posting his 8th shutout of the season and gaining more confidence heading down the stretch. The Defense kept his sight lines clean and clear making most shots a cakewalk.

Greg Campbell had the goal of the night.....the Bruins were trying to kill off a 5-3 disadvantage and Soupy had the balls to steal the puck and snip over Alex Aulds right shoulder on the breakaway for the rare 2 man down shortie. Please note, Montreal Defender James Wisniewski completely gave up on the play allowing the breakaway.

The Bruins first line (Horton, Krejci, Lucic) was DOMINANT last night. Posting an 8 point night. Two goals from Horton and 3 Assist a piece from Krejci and Lucic. Great passing, great shooting and great offensive pressure. Need that in the playoffs.

The Power Play looked solid on the 4 minute power play at the end of the First. The B's kept offensive zone possession for the majority of that double minor. Capping the hard work with a easy goal for Horton. Keeping that much solid pressure on a teams PK will ultimately lead to goals. Keep that up.

Tomas Kaberle scored his first goal as a Bruin. Although it was during garbage time (the last ten minutes in the 3rd), it was still great to see the d-man get his first tally at home. Hopefully Mr. Kaberle likes the energy of this town and he wants to stay here for years to come and signs a multi-year extension. Please and Thank you.

TV play by play man Jack Edwards after Kaberle's goal...."Its a six-pack for the Bruins. BOTTOMS UP!"

AND.... Shannon's survey was the HARDEST survey I have every had to participate in. Just ask Coon and Zeke.

With the win, the Bruins have 92 points and push their lead to 5 points in the Division with two in hand over the Hapless Habs. Really nothing else to say, The Bruins made the Habs their bitch last night. Lets just hope they can convey this type of energy and effort into the postseason. Go Bruins!

Thursday, March 24, 2011

Habs vs. Bruins 7 p.m. @ TD Garden




I HATE MONTREAL. Bunch of frauds up there in la la land. Go Bruins!


No one in their right minds would EVER call 911 to get an NHL player arrested for an Interference penalty gone wrong.


Crying Little Babies!

Tuesday, March 22, 2011

AYO for YAYO



 Bruins 4 - Devils 1

Quit your fucking panicking. The Bruins picked the right time to get back in the win column. Playing one of the hottest teams in the NHL in the New Jersey Devils, the Bruins got solid performances from everyone involved scoring four unanswered goals (Thornton (9), Chara (13), Lucic (30), and Recchi (13 ENG)) after giving up the opening tally to Ilya Kovalchuk on a first period power play. Tim Thomas stopped 30 shots (thwarting 16 in the opening frame.)

Couple thoughts from tonight's game.....

After a couple "spirited" practices after Saturday night's debacle north of the border, it was apparent that it translated to the garden ice. The B's won numerous battles in the offensive zone and maintained pressure and played the physical style that suits them so well.

ALERT THE MEDIA....the Bruins scored on the power play! First 5-4 goal since 2/18. A beautiful cross ice feed from Lucic to Chara led to Big Z (3 points) depositing the biscuit in the back of the net. This will hopefully jump start the sluggish Power Play heading towards the postseason.

Milan Lucic is a BIG BALLER. Scoring 30 goals in a season for the first time in his career. A healthy, hungry Milan Lucic is a productive Milan Lucic. Got a SWEET behind the back feed from Patrice Bergeron late in the third period to put this game on ice....Pun Intended.

Thomas Kaberle shows zero emotion. To be honest, that may be a good thing. Just doing his damn thing on the ice. The Czech tallied two helpers tonight and is starting to become a solid producer for this team.

Andrew Ference returned tonight for the B's after missing a large chunk of games due to injury while Brad Marchand returned after a two game suspension. Tyler Seguin was paired with Chris Kelley and Rich Peverly and they looked really good.

AND....Diet Coke tastes way better than Coca Cola. FACT.

With the win, the Bruins eclipse the 90 point mark with 10 games remaining. Still sitting in 3rd in the conference and first in their division. Montreal lost to Buffalo 2-0 at home tonight to give the Bruins a 3 point lead with 2 games in hand before a HUGE clash between the two clubs on Thursday @ The Garden. OH BABY.......

Monday, March 21, 2011

Da Fuck is Wrong with the Bruins?


1-3-3 in their last 7 games. Garbage. They better wake their asses up if they have any hopes of getting out of the first round. Montreal is breathing down our necks and if we dont watch out, we could lose home ice in the first round. 

Saturday, March 19, 2011

It was 5 years ago today.......



This may read egotistically. But hey, whatever.

Look at those three beautiful children in Fisherman Uni's. Ya'll can call me gay, straight, stupid, a loser....or say that I'm living in the past. Well guess what, even if all of those were true....I'd still tell you to go fuck yourself because what happened exactly 5 years ago today, will probably wind up rivaling the memories of my future marriage, birth of my first child etc. We won the MIAA State Championship 2-1 vs. Coyle Cassidy at the TD Garden. We got to skate on that ice, and to put it frankly, we deserved it because we were damn good. Retards? Yes. Super Awesome? Without question. Did the MBTA create an extra train just so all you muffs could see us play? Yea, they did, and I bet they regretted that decision.

The manner in which we won, to put it conservatively, would have given your grandfather a heart attack. Mama Brunson (Judy Doyle) was so nervous that she found herself in the bathroom so she didn't have to watch. The Crowd, against St. Mary's, was fucking epic. We thank you for that. But above all you should be thanking us for the great service we (TJS) provided this town. A State Championship.

What better way to celebrate the 5th anniversary you ask? Why we are going to the scene of the crime to watch the Hockey East Finals. Sitting in the balcony with fellow teammates of the championship era slugging brews. Sign me up. I will be 75 years old and I will still remember what glorious memories were had on March 19th, 2006, but above all, I will make sure I tell you about it.